Fetch? I don’t think so…

I’m not a fetch dog. I may chase a ball or stick, but I’ll only bring it back if I want to. The way I see it, if they wanted it so badly then they shouldn’t have thrown it away – right? This infuriates daddy endlessly hehehehe. Mummy videoed some of my least cooperative moments for your viewing pleasure:

Do you fetch?

82 Comments on “Fetch? I don’t think so…”

  1. Misaki we know you are really helping dad stay fit by having to go and get the ball. Nice one pal. Have a terrific Thursday.
    Best wishes Molly

  2. Zena says:

    You are way more polite than Zac and I were. We wouldn’t even follow the ball in the first place! Raffles bounces after it, pounces on it and then stands looking at it waiting for someone to throw it again!
    No, we are in your corner Misaki – no fetchers here 😀

  3. Me and Nellie,also do not understand this concept of fetch. If, they want to throw things around do not except Me and Nellie to bring them back. As far as We are concerned it is strange people behaviour and We will not be a part of it. Love Nellie and Jasper, the two bestest maremms in the land.

  4. Dalton says:

    Do something?? Ah that well know command! Don’t worry typist is only laughing because her dog does the exact same thing??!! However I am with you pal, if you chucked it away you go and get it, plus they do need their excercise!

    P.S Misaki, did you hear the useless dog comment – I hope you got lots and lots of treats by way of an apology for that!!!

  5. Nachthawk says:

    bit like finn… running there to get to it and then going off it and doing his own thing… finn even did that with a fetch bag (don’t know what you call that ?) filled with food (sausages)…

  6. Misaki, I think you’re right! If they wanted it back, they wouldn’t have thrown it away! Humans are such weird beings, aren’t they?!!!
    🙂

  7. Doggy brings whatever you throw him, even rocks, he does a good slave.

  8. When Sam was tiny he loved to play fetch – and he was quite good at bringing whatever was tossed right back to ME…..these days he looks at me with the “you’ve got to be kidding” expression on his face. We don’t even TRY to play fetch anymore! I think playing when you want to is a good compromise Misaki – so does Sammy…..

    Pam (and Sam)

  9. So funny, Misaki! Finn fetches, and we have lots of fun playing. Our other dogs didn’t, no matter how much we ‘practiced’!!!

  10. emma says:

    I have no interest in catching anything, my sister likes to catch the tennis ball and then have mom chase her to get it back. Just like you, we are not retrieving types at all!

  11. catchatcaren says:

    Love the new blog design!
    Believe it or not Dakota will usually bring the ball back during a game of fetch, but…I think Misaki was distracted by something around her so she didn’t..Dakota does that sometimes too!!!

  12. p.m.terrell says:

    Loved watching those videos! The best part was listening to your accents. I love them!

  13. Clowie says:

    I don’t ‘fetch’ either. Well, maybe once on a really good day!

  14. You keep them guessing that’s awesome. Torrey loves to fetch, me, not at all.

  15. I like your new bloggie design. Super cool!
    I fetch and bring the ball back… but then I don’t give it up. I make mommy chase me to get it. Or she has to bribe me with a treat. Yummmmm…. that works.
    Wags,
    Ranger

  16. I like fetch, I bring all things back but I refuse to give it to my staff :o) I agree, why you should bring back things what they threw away? Your blogdesign is just hot hot hot! I like it!!!

  17. kolytyi says:

    I played fetch with a dog who always brought back his toy or the ball but I needed about 5 minutes to convince him that he should give it to me so that I can throw it again. He enjoyed the game very much and developed my reaction time considerably – it is not easy to take away a ball or a plush toy from a widely jumping and running dog’s mouth through the fence 🙂 He was also extremely excited when I tried to pet him – he wanted it so strongly that he was not able to hold his head under my palm. He was very-very funny. But one day he disappeared – I think he moved away. I hope he has a much bigger and more interesting yard now.

  18. The OP Pack says:

    No fetchers here either. We might run to see what it is but why would we bring it back? Silly humans.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  19. dogdaz says:

    Misaki – Love the new look. Lulu is a fetcher when it suits her mood. Sofie, not so much. – DogDaz

  20. ROFL…… oh me… I can’t stop laughing. THIS IS WHAT I DO!!!! Sometimes, I’ll actually “fetch” but most of the time if the peeps throw a stick, I’ll go after it and eat it. Gone. ‘Nuf said.

    AroOOOO, Stuart

  21. You and Boomer would get along great when it comes to fetch, he doesn’t care to bring back anything we throw, more often than not he likes to play keep away! Dottie is our fetcher!

  22. Cat Forsley says:

    i like the 2nd video the best 🙂 Your mom has such a cool accent Misaki – and i think you should keep the ball she throws to You xxx CARRY ON BEAUTIFUL XO

  23. Kyla says:

    Kaci fetches, I’m above it all.

  24. Urban hounds says:

    We don’t really fetch either great video
    Urban hounds

  25. writetowag says:

    Love your new gravatar!!!!

  26. Those videos are hilarious! Your parents sound a lot like Mom, but with a different accent. Hopeful at first, and then disgusted. We play fetch in the house, but it is puzzling to me. Sometimes I bring the ball back, and Mom gives me a treat. But mostly, I bring it on the couch and try to hatch it like an egg. Mom says the word, “SERIOUSLY???”

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  27. Will and Eko says:

    Eko is also a “fetch-when-he-pleases” type of pup. He normally prefers to do his own thing, so I feel for your dad in those videos (though that didn’t stop me from laughing!)

    PS – Love the new page design and logo.

  28. BOL, they shouldn’t have thrown it away. We’re with you on that. Fetch? Us? Nah, we’re go get it and turn it into tiny itsy bitsy toothpicks. Yup, dat’s us, Max & Balla the chew machines

  29. I agree whole-heartedly, Misaki. I don’t “fetch” either. I go get the toy and then take it to a secret hiding spot. Find it yourselves humans, I say!
    *Cairn cuddles*
    Oz

  30. bwwahahahaha…I thought Mals probably felt just like Sibes about “fetch”…not hardly!!

  31. CATachresis says:

    Could never understand this fetching thing??? what’s it all about? I’m with you Misaki. Us non fetchers should start a club!

    Love Austin xx

    PeeEss Mum’s gone all weak at the knees at your gorgeousness!! Humans!!

  32. Gizmo says:

    OMD I am still laughing Misaki…silly hoomins wanting us to find their stuff fur them…I do NOT fetch, retrieve or chase anything that isn’t food…Now if you want to throw biscuits or sossidges out there I’ll be happy to go find them and dispose of them fur you (Momz LOVES your new look!)

  33. Funny! Rita does something similar. She’ll run after the ball, but rarely picks it up and brings it back! So we usually only play with a ball when we’re walking at the beach – and we have to throw it the direction we’re headed! If we ever want to end the game, we just throw it the opposite direction and it’s game over!

  34. onebluedog says:

    Aw, your poor mum and dad…they sound so hopeful. I love fetch now, but mom had to use some tasty treats to help me really understand the whole bringing it back part. Even now I sometimes decide to take a break and just hang out with my tennis ball in a shady spot 🙂

  35. Misaki I can only say that you are missing out on one fun game!!!

  36. Penelope says:

    Misaki! My hairy slobbery sister Bob is exactly like yous! Mommy says whacking the ball for her is like playing fetch with herself!
    Cinnamon, however, brings the ball or stick or frizzbie or stuffy or whatever back and back and back and dumps it in front of the lawnmower or under your feets, again and again and again….
    kisses
    Nellie

  37. A Husky Life says:

    LOL, oh do I ever remember those days! Rocco used to be like that, but we finally figured it out 🙂

  38. alfiebeagle says:

    I’m still up for teaching you fetch Misaki! Bol

  39. Hi Misaki!
    I just love your new look here, very nice! I was sick for a week with food poisoning and just came back to the computer to find out that I completely missed your fun competition. Sorry for not taking part, looks like it was a ton of fun 🙂
    We have a few pups that fetch here at the ranch, but most just give chase and then keep going in the same direction, or head off for a wrestle… toy abandoned along the way! lol
    Have a great weekend!

  40. dougalldog says:

    That’s like Floyd, loves to chase the ball, not bringing it back!

  41. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Misaki,

    I play fetch pretty much like you do too! Another favorite is to find another dog playing fetch at the park and chase them when the ball is thrown, that’s fun! 🙂

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  42. haha…this is too cute! Misaki you are right…if your human wants the ball, she should fetch it for herself 😉

  43. Nylabluesmum says:

    Misaki you throw da stick n see what Dad doez?? BOL/MOL!!! 😉
    Lub Nylablue xo


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

