Dog Safety

I am participating in the Dog Fence DIY Electric Dog Fence Safety Round Up – join in too and possibly win $250 for best safety tips for dogs.

There are lots of ways to keep your dog safe, including microchipping, spaying and training. But I thought I’d talk about car safety.

2012-07-15 09.40.13 - Copy

me driving the car back in 2012

When I was alot younger and smaller, we went to visit my nanny and grampy. Our car is a hatchback so I have a hammock in the back seat, and  I was wearing a harness which was connected to my lead. This had a seat belt attachment on it and was quite long. At the time mummy and daddy though this was a good idea as it gave me room to manouver. As you can imagine – it wasn’t.

Being a hot day they had the windows open and I was lying on my hammock totally chilled out. However, when we pulled up outside the house, my grampy stepped out and I couldn’t wait to greet him. So I jumped out of the window to get to him!!! My lead was still connected to the seatbelt so I couldn’t go too far and luckily the car was parked. But say I’d done that why the car was moving?? A very worrying thought indeed.

So now, as you can imagine, I have a proper seat belt attachment and they are careful about how far the windows are rolled down, though they seem to think it’s unlikely I’d be able to fit through them nowadays! We’ve also practiced the ‘wait’ command so I don’t get out of the car till I’m told to.

We were lucky the incident wasn’t worse than it was and most of all, taught us to be much more careful when in the car.

How do you keep your dog safe?

If you want to join in too, check out Dog Fence DIY for details.


61 Comments on “Dog Safety”

  1. Awww I’m glad nothing happened to you as you jumped out of the window. we have such a grid-thingy for the windows and we use the zip line thingy by kurgo to hold me on the back seat ( yes, I’m a back seat rider too, because the trunk of the Elephant Skater is just big enough for a six pack of coke)

  2. It is sometimes good to have a scare in a safe place – makes you think.

  3. We always have our harnesses on when we are in the car, although we haven’t learned to drive like you yet as our feet won’t reach the pedals 🙂
    Dip and Elliot x

  4. Earl Lover says:

    Earl either has a harness on, or is safely tucked away in a safe soft crate.

    Lots of Woofs from Earl and I at Earl’s World!

  5. dezizworld says:

    Oh wow a hammock in da back seat?? Cool. Gweat posty Misaki.

    Luv and Hugs and Kitty kisses ♥♥♥

    Dezi

  6. I bet that hammock was awesome huh. Well I am glad you are safe and it wasn’t a tragic learning incident. Your parents really care about you. Very nice for sharing. Humans don’t think like us cats and dogs so don’t always realize the possibility and this may help another doggie parent not make the same accident.

  7. Great tip, M. I always wear my seatbelt/harness. Plus I usually stand like a statue in the car. Mom says I’m hypnotized by the movement.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  8. Someone always sits with me in the back seat so I am never alone and I can’t get up to mischief. Have a tremendous Thursday.
    Best wishes Molly

  9. katiebblogs says:

    Good for you for your safety and seatbelt Misaki! Good job teaching your friends too 🙂

  10. PigLove says:

    Thank goodness the car wasn’t moving Misaki – please be careful!! Mommy keeps me in the back of the Smart car in my little attachment. That space is perfect for me. Getting me in and out is pretty easy and she’s about the only one that I will listen to- snorts. XOXO – Bacon

  11. cecilia07 says:

    OOOOHHHHH a gal with wheels. Buckle up and I’ll be waiting on the corner
    Hugs Madi your bfff

  12. Wow, what a story, Misaki! We’re all so glad you are safe and sound. Lucy the JR would bounce all over the auto so she is always seat-belted in. We have Invisible Fence in our front yard and we have it in our back yard also, even though the back yard has a regular fence. It keeps us from digging out underneath the fence, which we were known to do!

  13. The best way to learn is definitely by experience. Thank you for sharing, and i’m glad you didn’t jump out the window while the car was moving! that could have been real bad!
    Have a great day and good luck on winning!
    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

  14. Frankie and Ernie says:

    THAT is a super SAFE improvement. We are always in our harnesses and attached to the seat belt thingy, also. Better SAFE than SAD.

  15. Kyla says:

    I always buckle up when I drive.

  16. Will and Eko says:

    I think everyone with a pup has a few close calls like yours. I actually had a very similar event with Eko, but since then he’s had a shorter harness. Better safe than sorry!

  17. So glad you’re okay to write this post. Very important about safety. wag wag ❤

  18. We are microchipped and have a fenced yard with 2 LOCKED AT ALL TIMES gates.

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  19. Emmadog says:

    You need to chat with my sister Katie who jumped out of the convertible that was still moving slowly because she saw her boyfriend! No harm done, she just hung over the side of the car by her seat belt. You are both crazy pups!

  20. What a lesson learned! I currently sit in the back seat with Bentley. Our next car will be chosen with Bentley in mind. I’ll be looking for a good seat belt and seat cover. What type do you use?

  21. Sure glad nothing happened to you. How scary!

  22. Pet Care says:

    Glad to hear that you weren’t hurt! I’m sure you didn’t mean to jump out, you were just so excited! I normally just open a few inches of the car window. My dogs are relatively naughtier and they won’t even let me finish the word “WAIT” before jumping out if I leave the windows wide open! – Maria

  23. speedyrabbit says:

    oh scary,glad nothing happened to you Misaki,xx SPeedy

  24. Laika says:

    Vaks and I are sitting in the back of our stationcar. Our harness is tethered to a small steel chain which is attached to an eye at the bottom of the car. We are not allowed to get out of the car before mom says here you go. Sniff from Laika and Vaks.

  25. Dogs N Pawz says:

    So glad you weren’t hurt and you are still here to tell us about it! Hopefully many humans will learn from your story and many doggies will be much safer because of you Misaki!

  26. Shiva & Jaya says:

    For dog safety, all votings for us, your elected Purrime Ministerettes of Planet Purrth serving all anipals except snakies!

  27. pawedblog says:

    Oh Misaki, I am pleased that nothing happened! Goodness. We are always vigilant but look out for how far the windows are down etc. I am constantly working on ‘stay’ with the pups when it’s time to get out of the car. It makes me so nervous and while I don’t *think* they would make a break for it, I always panic!
    Hugs, Carrie and pups x

  28. mollieandalfie says:

    Great post Zaci, we can go for a spin in my Beetle when youz comes down.. Seat belts on, windows down and sounds blasting Woohoooooo xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  29. Phew ww thank god you are safe and well to tell the tale 🙂

  30. huskies622 says:

    Oh my goodness, glad you were safe! Our Mom learned her lesson when one of her dogs almost make it out of the window when she was passing an alpaca farm, yikes! Now the windows are merely cracked.

    Kiki and Nala


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!