Stormy Friday

I woke mummy up in the night as I knew we were going to have a thunderstorm and wanted to get my business done before it started. There were already flashes of lightning while i was in the garden and Mummy started to get freaked out. Daddy snored through most of it. When I came back in I did my best to go back to sleep, but mr Thunder decided to join in the fun and I was worried about Mummy. So I headed upstairs and curled up next to her on the bed – it was too hot for snuggles really, but I knew it would make her feel better.
When she calmed down, I moved to the floor where it was cooler, but still close enough so she knew where I was if she got scared again.
I’m pretty tired after being kept awake by all the noise mr thunder and mr lightning were making with their game of bitey face in the sky. I hope they don’t do it again anytime soon.

Do you like thunderstorms?

33 Comments on “Stormy Friday”

  1. We had the same thunderstorm last night and I jumped under my dad’s blanket to keep him warm, hahahaha. I thought it will be cooler today, butt it’s still as hot as in hell here.

  2. Mummy was jolly lucky to have you around Misaki! We have sleepless nights too when there is thunder and lightning – George has taken to scratching all the plaster off walls if we don’t go down and join them 😦

  3. Over here in London, last night, I had not one but TWO massive and frightfully loud thunderstorms. Completely trashed my sleep 😦

    Vijay

  4. There is a thunderstorm here right now actually. Shiner likes to make sure that I am safe during the storms just like you do with your mommy 😉

  5. Dalton says:

    Mummy is very lucky that you are so considerate!

  6. What a good girl to keep your Mummy company during the storm. I don’t mind storms as much as I used to when I was younger. I try to be brave and NOT go to the basement to hide – if the thunder is very loud I’m not too happy about it but otherwise I just hang in there until things quiet down…….

    Hugs, Sammy

  7. fozziemum says:

    Misaki you are a good girl helping mum by keeping close to her..summer storms can be the most dramatic and tend to just make things stickier…yukkk we have had no storms but the boys bark at bitey face up in the sky…then after a while they give up hahaah 🙂 hugs and loves Fozziemum xxx

  8. I’m sorry that sky-bitey-face disturbed you in the night, M. Your mum, too. I don’t care about thunder and lightning. When we’re outside and it starts, Mom says the word, “Hurry up.” I don’t even know what that silly word means!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  9. we are the odd dogs who are immune to thunderstoms perhaps because we live in the city and are used to loud noises

    retro rover

  10. Awww Misaki your Mummy is so lucky to have you take care of her!

  11. PigLove says:

    Poor mommy. We do worry about them during the thunderstorms. They just can’t handle them can they? It’s the same way here at the Hotel Thompson. I always have to sleep with mom in the big bed to keep her safe and calm. XOXO – Bacon

  12. Kyla says:

    We love them. About half the summer evenings, we get something. Usually, there’s no rain but there can be heavy rain. Any combination of wind, thunder, lightening (lots) and rain. The best are the lightening with no thunder and even though it’s dark outside, there’s so much lightening, you could drive by it without your car lights on.

  13. Two French Bulldogs says:

    Oh boy! Hope all that nutty thunder is over. So scary
    Lily & Edward

  14. cecilia07 says:

    Misaki I do not like Mr thunder either
    Hugs
    MAdi your BFFF

  15. UGH! That darn mr. Thunder! He can be SO annoying!!!
    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

  16. It was so nice of you to keep your momma from getting skeered! Thunderstorms have never bothered me, but if it’s really bad we do like to all snuggle together.

  17. Boomer can sleep through storms but Dottie can’t she turns into a chicken and runs for cover!

  18. pawedblog says:

    Misaki we escaped the thunderstorm last night, it’s heading on over to us this weekend. You are so good! and brave to look after your mummy like that… do you think you might come and stay with me this weekend? I’m with mum with my views on storms!
    Hugs, Carrie and Pups x

  19. Emmadog says:

    Bummer! Bailie and I sleep right through them, but Katie and Mom are awake and can’t sleep.

  20. It's Dog or Nothing says:

    Good job making sure she stayed safe and calm! We’ve really only had one real thunderstorm since having the dogs. I have a feeling we’re going to be in for it when we move because Mauja and Atka didn’t experience storms as puppies. Hopefully I’m wrong!

  21. You are a good caretaker. I hope your Mom appreciates all your efforts.

  22. Bentley is not a fan at all! He is so much better since we bought him a Thundershirt. He does still stay close to us, in case we get scared too! He doesn’t feel that we need to sleep during storms in case we need to get into the hall for safety. ☺

  23. I don’t have a good news for you Misaki, but apparently more is coming tonight ;-(
    I hope you have better night and get some more sleep…
    Our guys don’t seem to be bothered by all these noises… they just snore away like nothing is happening.

  24. You are SO thoughtful. I bet you made your mum feel a lot better. I HATE thunder. It makes me shake and I just wanna sit on mum’s lap. Mum doesn’t like storms/thunder either but she just looks after me

  25. You’re such a good pup to protect your mom from the thunder. I’m pretty oblivious to storms, but they really freaked out my late canine sister Lexi. She would push on the shower door, pop it open, and go in there for safety. I still can’t quite figure out why she thought a shower surrounded by glass was a safe spot.

  26. It was good of you to keep your mummy safe from the storm, they can be horrible and scary things. Our dear old Maxi girl hates storms but little Bundy sleeps right through them.

  27. They don’t bother us at all. Mom says she is lucky!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

    Pee Ess – Don’t forget that THIS Friday is the first ever Fractured Fryday Hairy Tails!

  28. Ruckus ducks and hides during those storms!

  29. catfromhell says:

    We has been having thunder boomers every evening since Thursday! Mes snuggles with Mommy as mes KNOWS that she gets skeered – just like your Mommy!
    Kisses
    Nellie

  30. We love thunderstorms here. Well, maybe not all of us love them. I think Lilah the dog and Dawn the cat would rather they turn down the volume.

    –Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats

  31. Dogs N Pawz says:

    Ash hates mr thunder and mr lightning. She wines and paces but Teddy and Scout don’t seem to mind them at all. Your mummy was lucky that you were there to take care of her!

  32. Our full balls don’t like thunder or any big banging noises either. That said, sure do wish some of that rain would come our way.

  33. Stella the Great Newfenees here. I don’t like thunderstorms much, but I don’t panic when they come along. I just find a corner or small space near my two-legger pal Elizabeth, curl up and wait for it all to pass. I figure if she isn’t scared where she is, then it’s probably a safe place. If I’m outside, I always find a shed to sneak into or I hide out in my house. Storms always seem to pass by eventually, so I just let them do their thing. Not much else one can do, really. Fireworks, though… now they really bug me!


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

