The dog behind the blog

My husky cousins over at Love is Being Owned by a Husky invited me to join in The Writing Process Blog Tour which aims to share our blogging experiences with each other.

headerdriftsresized

The idea is that I answer 3 questions and then nominate a few blogs to do the same. But as mummy helps me to write my blog, I thought I’d give the floor to her this time.

2012-08-26 17.11.50

me and mummy

What am I working on?
Trying to keep my head above water lol! Blogging is a constant balancing act: I work full time, I have a messy husband and a big bouncy dog who gets jealous if I’m on the laptop too much. And I (very occasionally) have a social life. Trying to fit in blogging around everything that is going on is tough at times. But it’s all good fun and I’m not in a hurry to give it up.
In terms of forthcoming posts, Zaki (Misaki) and I are working on a review of some doggy biscuits, which I hope you’ll like, she certainly does! Ages ago I started a mini-me feature which I abandoned, but hoping to pick that up again, and also planning to do some more Sunday walk posts. We really need to spend more time on twitter and facebook as well. Too much to do, too little time!

Why do I write what I do?
I started the blog as a kind of diary following Zaki’s journey to adulthood. I thought my friends would get annoyed with me constantly posting on fb so I decided a blog would be a better fit. I knew next to nothing about blogging when I started and, although I hoped other people would read and identity with what I had to say, my expectations were quite low.  I have some regular followers and commenters now (who I am very grateful for),  but I still try to write for myself, or rather Zaki does – it’s her blog after all! I try to put myself in her place, try to pick out the things that would interest her, and hopefully manage to keep your interest too. I try not to take it too seriously. For the most part I just hope a few pictures of her beautiful face make up for all the things my blog lacks.

How does my writing process work?
I used to write spontaneously, sometimes knocking a post together during my morning commute to work, and would reply to comments during my lunchbreak. I’d even sneak around the blogs I read when I got a quiet moment – yes, I had a cushie job! With Zaki around there is always something to say. On the average walk she’d make a new friend, run off to chase squirrels and eat things she shouldn’t. The only issue was taking photos quick enough to catch whatever was going on. And as I would walk her just before leaving for work it would be fresh in my mind when I put it into a post.
But recently I’ve changed jobs. I now have a very small commute which is great,  but it’s difficult to blog during the day as I used to. I now try to plan what I’m posting for the week in advance to free up time in the evenings to read the blogs I subscribe to – although I always seem to be chasing my tail on that side of things! Forward planning is good in a way, it means my posts aren’t as fresh and I don’t always get the chance to join in some events going on in Blogville. It’s a constant balancing act. I’m hoping one day I’ll figure out the perfect solution. Or perhaps I’ll win the lottery so I can quit my job and become a full-time blogger:-)

Now I’ve shared my experience, I’d like to nominate my bunny buddy Speedy to give you an insight into his blog.

pizap.com13886528041621

 

And also the lovely Ann from My Pawsitively PetsPawsitivelyPetsFINAL

I hope you’ll pop by to read them.

If any of you would like to join in too, please do!

63 Comments on “The dog behind the blog”

  1. Grand answers for the Blog Hop! Isn’t it fun reading about the creative process from our friends and fellow bloggers?? We just loved pawticipating (oops….participating) in this one ourselves.

    Hugs, Pam

  2. fozziemum says:

    Great post Misaki and mum 🙂 lovely to hear how you process your blog ideas and we agree it is great fun and we don’t expect so many followers and sometimes get way behind!! have a great day hugs and loves Fozziemum xxx

  3. Oh Misaki…your beautiful face in pictures is one of the things we always look forward to in your posts but how lovely to read about why you write…keep up the good work…we love reading about your adventures!

  4. Mom and me photos are always great! She calls you Zaki? That’s cute! I’m glad you are a citizen of Blogville, it was interesting to see how a cuddly puppy became a beautiful lady!

  5. Clowie says:

    I love that photo of you together! I also enjoyed hearing more about you and how you try to balance your time.

  6. crazystacey says:

    I completely get trying to keep your head above water … I think every blogger can relate to that to some degree. So much to do … so little time. I love the photo of the two of you … very nice. I enjoyed learning more about you and Zaki … it was fun to learn a little about the human behind the blog 🙂

  7. Really enjoyed getting to know you.

  8. katiebblogs says:

    Great post and really nice to learn more, and Misaki’s nickname. So sweet. Blogging is definitely a balancing act and you seem to have it worked out pretty well 🙂

  9. PigLove says:

    Great information my friend!! XOXO – Bacon

  10. catfromhell says:

    Great post! Wes always loves meeting the people behind the blogs!
    Kisses
    Nellie (and Mommy)

  11. Two French Bulldogs says:

    Ahhh, sweet
    Lily & Edward

  12. cecilia07 says:

    Bravo Misaki,
    Great information on you and mom! Love love the photo
    Hugs
    Madi your BFFF

  13. this was delightful! I LOVE learning more about the animals behind the blogs (and their people!) You certainly have a full plate and you do a great job!

  14. Frankie and Ernie says:

    Super Post….

    PeeS…. we see that you send a super pressie to Easy…. The wimmen of Blogville will all be going NUTS over it… Just sayin.

  15. Will and Eko says:

    Cool peek behind the curtain – another great entry in this series.

  16. Great to learn more about you and your writing process!
    Thanks so much for joining the writing tour!
    I loved this post, and that first pic of you and Misaki is just wonderful!
    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

  17. speedyrabbit says:

    And you do your Blog proud too,so what ever works for you is great,xx Rachel and Speedy

  18. Loved getting to hear a little bit about your blogging process. I completely get trying to keep your head above water. I feel like there’s always so much I could be getting done! It’s totally worth it though. I love keeping up with you and Misaki 🙂

  19. Emmadog says:

    Balancing time is the hardest part for us too. Mom just wished she could forget the “real job”, then things would be better but how would we eat and put a roof over our heads?

  20. Ha! Mom thinks the same thing about my pictures. My face needs to make up for whatever I don’t say in my posts. We love your nickname, Zaki!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  21. How interesting! We like seeing the process others use!

    Your pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  22. this is such a great learning experience for Mom L and me. Thank you for sharing Zaki and Mum!

  23. Thanks so much for sharing! Love to learn about everyone and their approach!
    Marty and Mom

  24. Rebekah says:

    Nice to “meet” you!

  25. Again, thanks for inviting us to join. I’m having similar issues right now… there is no way I’d be able to blog like this if I worked a full time job. I’ve also fallen behind a bit, but I try to just go with the flow. Really need to work on setting up some scheduled posts because I’ve been slacking there! And I am not sure if I’ve ever seen your picture before, so it’s nice to put a name with a face!

  26. Great to know your mom better 🙂 You tow are adorable

  27. Your life sounds something like mine. Working and blogging and taking care of family and pets can certainly fill one’s days and nights. What a pawsome way to fill a commute. I can’t do that with my long commute, as I drive. But I do use the time to think of ideas and note them in my iPhone.

    Great post!

    –Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats

  28. Awesome job and I can certainly identify with many aspects of your writing! What’s a social life? Haha!!

  29. Nylabluesmum says:

    Hi Dawn: Sherri-Ellen here (shhh don’t tell Nylablue). Great ‘Dog behind the Blog’ post you did. We are similar in that we started out blogging for ourselves & to chronicle our 4 leggeds lives. I too wanted to give Nylablue “her voice” because of her bleak past. I had no idea when I joined here that we would make such great friends with so many like minded people!
    WP is a great site & everyone here is awesome including you!!!
    Oh oh her comes Nylablue so i’d better sign off….
    Love Sherri-Ellen 😉

  30. This is a really nice idea. Thanks for sharing about you!

  31. Super cool to hear from your mum and her blogging process. We might not comment often but we read almost everything you post. We’re silently lurking!

    As you know, I moved my blog to Tumblr and in the process totally simplified my blogging. I post only photos now which I cross post from Instagram to Facebook and Tumblr. Your blog is definitely more content-rich than mine but photos are so simple and require very little planning.

    Almost all my blogging is done from my mum’s iPhone which means she can do it anywhere and it takes very little time. This was all done on purpose to address many of the things your mum talks about above. My mum works full-time too and blogging is damn hard work – as your mum knows! So rather than become lazy with my old WordPress blog she looked for ways to constantly post content without it requiring a lot of time and effort.

    We very much appreciate the time your mum devotes to your blog. It’s obvious she’s conscientious about the content. There’s always something interesting. It’s never the same old, same old! Congratulations on your blogging. Give your mum a face lick from me 😉


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

