Down the market

This weekend mummy and daddy decided to head back to where they used to live in East London to have a wander round the market. Ironically when they lived there, they avoided the market as it would get so busy. But they really wanted to get some fruit and veg that’s either hard to come by, or expensive, in the local supermarket. And they thought it would be fun to take me with them.

We set out early to beat the crowds and at first it went really well. I walked nicely with daddy as we checked out the stalls, a few people stopped to say hello to me – they even asked first – and all three of us were having a good time. Sadly there are no photos though. But then we walked past a cafe with two border terriers sitting outside and as soon as they saw me they went nuts! It freaked me right out and things went a bit downhill from there. It didn’t help that mummy is a wimp and couldn’t carry the shopping so they switched and I had to walk with her instead. On my long lead in the park or elsewhere that would have been fine. But I was on the shortest lead we have and there were lots of people and stalls about.

What with those two evil dogs, various vans making deliveries and the banging of poles as more stalls were being put up,  it all got too much and I just wanted to head home. As Easy would put it, mummy became a kite at the end of my lead and we took off towards the car! Pack-horse Daddy had to run to keep up and by the time we reached it, they were both exhausted and sweaty. I had to hold my nose on the way home as the car was pretty stinky lol.

They’re torn over whether to take me again. On the one hand they think it would be good for me to get used to those kinds of situations. But at the same time mummy isn’t sure her arm could take it lol.

Do you like walking around busy markets?

 

For the rest of the weekend, mummy watched her favourite Netflix show. But I think you guys would prefer this version:

What did you get up to this weekend?

55 Comments on “Down the market”

  1. Mummy decided to take me for a walk this afternoon and for some reason she complained of the very same thing – having her arm wrenched from its socket. No idea as to what she was talking about. Think mummy’s are prone to exaggeration. Nellie and Jasper, the two bestest maremmas in all the land.

  2. We could picture the whole story, Misaki…..MOL 😀 😀 Granny and Grandpa don’t take me anywhere, but I have to admit that I don’t like crowdy places. I’d rather stay at home in the garden when they’re out. And today I make myself comfy under the tabel in the garden and sleep the day away….like usually. Pawkisses for a Happy Whitsun 🙂

  3. Misaki I agree with you, if a lot of people,dogs,cars and noises are around me, I feel uncomfy and I try to leave that place with balls to the wall. Even if the other end on the leash lifts off ( good chance to take some air images hehe).

  4. Earl Lover says:

    You’re right Misaki!

    Lots of Woofs from Earl and I at Earl’s World!

  5. Well Misaki, I don’t think I’d be crazy about all that “activity” in a busy market either….I’d be up in my Mom’s arms hiding in her armpit……but maybe one more try wouldn’t be so bad? That video was SUPER cute – you know I’m very partial to orange tabby kitties!!!!! 🙂

    Hugs, Sammy

  6. We don’t well in crowds either. I’d rather stay at home and have a nap. Have a serene Sunday. Hope you are looking forward to some big easy today.
    Best wishes Molly

  7. Oh boy, M. I can see how that turned ugly after the border collies upset the balance. Mom is planning to take me to a craft show next weekend to see if I can be in a big crowd like that. I hope there aren’t any dogs misbehaving. That will send us downhill….

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  8. fozziemum says:

    Misaki the bous here would lose their cheese…it can be overwhelming indeed…..lucky we had some relaxing ginger kitty therapy…oh yeah like Sammy I am partial to a gingerbread cat 🙂 hugs and loves Fozziemum xx

  9. Frankie and Ernie says:

    We TRIED to go to the Farmer’s Market Yesterday… we wanted to walk around and look at stuffs…. butt we COULDN’t Beclaws Peeps kept STOPPING Us and Petting Us and talking to us.
    BUTT we didn’t have a bad experience with other dawgs like you did. Sorry about that.

  10. speedyrabbit says:

    may be you need to start small and local and gradually build up the experiences,xx Speedy

  11. We don’t go to the market. We are sorry it was so scary for you. Good to do things that scary you!

  12. Kyla says:

    Those darn terriers sure cause trouble.

  13. Laika says:

    I’m not a fan of strange dogs and a lot of people myself. But mom use to take a trip on her bike with me running beside her, before we are going to town and after that I don’t care if there are any dogs 🙂

  14. pawedblog says:

    Ahh Misaki, neither me or the pups are fans of those situations you did really well anyway. Maybe if you go again it could be on a day where you didn’t need to do shopping so poor mums arms would manage!
    That Kitten vid was hilarious, thanks for sharing 🙂
    Hugs, Carrie and pups x

  15. cecilia07 says:

    Hey Misaki…sounds like you had a busy weekend and it must have been pretty if everyone was out and about…as for me….nope I don’t like crowds
    Hugs madi your bfff

  16. We would hardly call us in a market “walking around” more like chaos city. We can certainly understand your mum’s conflict. We vote you get to go again, you’re much better behaved than we are. And, that’s with our biped mom being half-English. BOL.

  17. Nylabluesmum says:

    MOL Orinche is da new Black…now we ‘get’ da show!!!! Onlee Kittehz can xplane fingz propurrlee 😉
    Miskai ya did bery bery well at da Markit. Ne cuud nott handle any of dat noise n so many peepz so ya did well. Maybee Mum n Dad shuud take ya to smaller markitz or around da sotrez where ya livez…werk ya up to beein around more peepz n noise! What do ya finkz?
    Kiss Miss dawn fer me n tell her to rest her arm okayz 😉
    Much lub Nylablue ❤ ❤ ❤

  18. Our pawrents like to take us to places that are very crowded so we can practice. So far we do good.

    Your pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  19. I have not had my dogs in a market type setting with a bunch of people shopping around so I’m not entirely sure how they would react. Lexus I know would not be happy, Mika and Koda might be OK, but not to sure.
    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

  20. Emmadog says:

    That is a funny video! We are just hanging out this weekend. It was cold and rainy yesterday, today is perfect to be out in the yard.

  21. We know your Mom and Dad will work out what is best for everyone. We hope you can go again.

  22. My trainer always told me not to bring my dog anywhere he or she wasn’t ready for. I think your folks are right that you need to be socialized. Maybe next time they might take you someplace a little less stressful to get you used to it more gradually. But it sounds like you did the best you could in the circumstances, and there’s a lot to be said for that.

    –Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats

  23. Well sounds like fun for your peeps. I don’t usually take Shiner to places like that but it’s because she doesn’t really like strangers.

  24. They need to take you again

  25. Jessica says:

    We are in the same situation with Taylor…she gets pretty anxious while around a large crowd. You are not the only one, my friend!

  26. Oh dear Misaki! My humans mum’s three German Shepards are the same… the have 3 firelds they usually play in but if they’re out in public on the lead they go crazy! I’m sure you were much better than them!

  27. haha! That picture of your mom as a kite will now forever be in my head!


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

