10 Comments You Should Never Make to a Dog Owner

Today’s post comes from helpucover

If you’re a dog owner, you have undoubtedly had the majority of these comments thrown at you in the past – and you have probably lost your temper each and every time. Regardless of how well-intended the comments are supposed to be, more often than not they come across as rude to the dog owner.

Here are 10 comments that are better left unsaid:

1. “Why are you so upset that your dog died? You can just get a new one.”

This comment is only ever said by people who have never once owned a pet. Not only is it rude, but it is also incredibly insensitive. If you sadly lost your grandad, you wouldn’t simply replace him with a similar looking old man would you? The same applies to dogs – especially as dog owners can become extremely attached to their pet. They are irreplaceable and can take a very long time to get over.

2. “You can come, but you have to leave your dog at home.”

Obviously we dog owners don’t expect to be able to bring our dogs with us everywhere we go. We are well-aware that our dogs aren’t allowed in most shops or restaurants, but we do expect our well-behaved dogs to be able to accompany us when we visit your house for instance. Leaving dogs alone can be difficult for owners and dog minders can be rather expensive.

3. “Ew, how can you let your dog kiss you?”

Ah, the ‘pooch smooch’. This activity of allowing our dogs lick our faces grosses out the majority of non-dog owners. While it is indeed unhygienic and can spread bacteria, it is ultimately up to the dog owner whether they want to let their dog near their face or not – so don’t comment on it.

4. “Do you have dogs because you don’t have any kids?”

This is one of the most infuriating comments people tend to make. Many dog owners have children too, and consider them both to be part of the family. Just because somebody has a pet dog and doesn’t have a child, doesn’t mean that it’s the reason why!

5. “Do you think you’re single because you spend so much time with your dog?”

Similarly to the above comment, this is another absurd question that all single dog owners get asked at some point – and the answer is obviously no. It’s an incredibly disrespectful and hurtful comment to make, and is certainly better left unsaid.

6. “You shouldn’t let your dog sleep on your bed, you know.”

This comment is often thrown at you when your dog jumps onto the sofa too. However, cuddling up to or sleeping with a dog is important to some dog owners as it can help them feel happy, relaxed and safer.

7. “Are you really going to let him do that? You should punish him or he’ll never learn.”

Again, this is often said by non-dog owners. Albeit sometimes subtly, we dog owners are almost always actually teaching our dogs a lesson when they misbehave. Simply ignoring your pet can be enough to let the dog know that he has done wrong – punishments don’t have to be obvious. Don’t tell somebody that they should hit their dog, and certainly never hit somebody else’s dog for them – or you might just get (deservedly) hit yourself!

8. “Your dog is costing you way too much money. You should consider giving him away.”

Money doesn’t necessarily bring you happiness, but dogs do. It is also nobody’s business what you decide to spend your money on. As mentioned before, dog owners often see their dog as part of the family, so spending money on their health, happiness and well-being is money well spent for many dog owners.

9. “You are aware that he can’t understand you when you talk to him, right?”

People don’t tend to say this when we say “sit” or “here boy” – it’s more when we tell our dog what we plan to buy, or complain to him about how much laundry we have to do. Still, dog owners often see their dog as their best friend and it’s nice to talk to them – regardless of whether they understand the content. Don’t tell us we can’t talk to our dogs, or we won’t talk to you.

10. “Ah, I’ve heard that breed is pretty vicious!”

You may well have heard that stereotype, but you haven’t heard that about my dog in particular. Dogs are only vicious if they haven’t been trained properly, so it is extremely insulting to be told that our dog is going to be mean – especially when we know how cuddly and friendly he is!

Author Bio:

This article was written on behalf of helpucover. helpucover is a trading style of Pinnacle Insurance plc, an insurance company who offer a range of cover including Income Protection, Pet Insurance, GAP insurance and Gadget Insurance. Visit us online at: http://www.helpucover.co.uk

 

 

 

 

78 Comments on “10 Comments You Should Never Make to a Dog Owner”

  1. Would they be as disparaging about an unruly child to your face? Doubt it.

  2. I agree, Misaki :o) I wonder why no one asks some of the questions “vice versa”, specially #4 :o)

  3. Grrr to all of those. So right better left unsaid. Have a terrific Tuesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  4. dezizworld says:

    Mommys gotten all of those questions ‘cept 10 asked ’bout hers kittys. Sum people just don’t get it. Most of mommys furmily finks dat way. Dat’s purrawly why wees da nly furmily wees got. 🙂

    Luv and Hugs and Kitty Kisses ♥♥♥

    Dezi

  5. some of them i can tick off relating to my cats people have asked me x

  6. No kissing?? No bed?? That’s just crazy talk!

    Love and licks – yes, licks -plenty of them,
    Cupcake

  7. Nikitaland says:

    I would never deny a kissie from my dogs, ever. Nikita sleeps snuggled next to us every night, and I would never change that for the world. People that don’t have dogs really don’t understand any of this. Perhaps they should get one to see what they are missing out on! ❤

  8. PigLove says:

    uh-oh. Mom said she would be so very ticked. Some people have asked equally dumb questions of me. That puts mom two degrees past pissed. Shakes piggy head. XOXO – Bacon

  9. Bravo to #1. ohhhh that makes me mad. I still am missing my 13 year old Norman who passed last November. He can never be replaced. Those were all the best things not to say. I think people who don’t consider their pets as part of the family and non pet owners say that stupid stuff. At one time I had 4 big dogs in my bed and a cat.

  10. hungryhungryhippo404 says:

    Those people have no soul!! 😦

  11. UGH!!!!!!!
    I have had SO many of those comments thrown at me~!!! I don’t often let the huskies lick my face, but sometimes I do, and I have heard all about it from people!
    I have also had the “don’t let your dogs on the bed or couch” a bunch of times. Yea right!
    Some people are just ridiculous! If I wanted their opinion, I would ask, otherwise, keep it to yourself!!!!! ha! Loved this post!
    ღ husky hugz ღ frum our pack at Love is being owned by a husky!

    • Misaki says:

      Daddy’s parents (who are pet owners) comment about me being allowed on the sofa everytime they come round. It’s becoming very waring and non of their business

  12. Frankie and Ernie says:

    SOME Peeps are just INSANE. They have NO idea what they are MISSING. WE feel so sorry fur them.

  13. Some people are just idiots. Momma ignores them, but I want to bite some of them. Or give them a good licking and snuggling so they’d see what they’re missing!!

  14. Jane Y. says:

    i heard so many of these comments too! the children one is especially hurtful because we would love to have children but it’s taking a bit long for us unfortunately… and the get rid of it because the dog costs too much or is just too high maintenance (in terms of it being older, etc.) is hurtful as well. just so insensitive…

  15. Two French Bulldogs says:

    So true!!
    Lily & Edward

  16. Laika says:

    And a dog is also the best companionship you could wish for if one spouse has died. Then you are never alone (that’s fine with another pet too). Sniff and wags from Laika and Vaks.

  17. raisingdaisy says:

    I can’t get over that people are actually dense enough to say some of these things – I absolutely believe it (and have heard some), but I can’t get over it. The first one really bothers me – when my first dog passed, my boss laughed at me when I said I couldn’t come into work because we found my dog dead that morning and had to arrange to have her taken out. When I went in the next day, still raw from my loss, he and another partner made jokes about it every time they passed my desk. “‘Mr. XYZ pulled out of that big merger.’ ‘Why, did his dog die?'” And they’d laugh. It was constant and so heartless. I’ll never forget it.

  18. Great list, thanks for sharing!

  19. Earl Lover says:

    That’s very true. I hate it when people say that 😦

    Lots of Woofs from Earl and I at Earl’s World!

  20. Rebekah says:

    This is excellent. Sometimes people seem to forget their manners.

  21. Ah, what a list and unfortunately these still go round. About no1, it’s exactly the reason why we never said anything to anyone when our first dog passed. Just avoided any contact for days.

  22. It's Dog or Nothing says:

    I have heard every single one of those comments and it’s so frustrating! Especially when people come to visit and complain about getting dog fur on their clothes. The dogs live here, you don’t. If you don’t like the fur then you can just leave!

  23. All of those statements bother us, and another of our pet peeves that falls in the #10 category is: “Good grief! That dog is big! (Black Russian Terrier)” accompanied by people backing up away from us. Being a giant breed means what? That statement by all the Captains Obvious is interchangeable with, “You two don’t fit those dogs. Why isn’t HE (hubs) walking THAT dog while you walk that little dog (Corgi)?” Hello, People! Does it look like the dog is giving me a hard time? Does it ever occur to you that the dog might have been through a LOT of training?

  24. Dumb questions or statements for sure! We get a lot of dumb cat questions too – the one about having a pet instead of a kid REALLY gets to my Mom. Oh well…..there are people who really don’t know the REAL STORY about cats, dogs and other pets – and don’t bother to find out either!

    Sammy and Mom

    • Misaki says:

      That’s true sammy. Daddy’s parents still can’t get over the fact that I’m allowed on the sofa – they should really get over it!

  25. You wanna see ‘vicious’??? BOL Oh, man, if they only knew…
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  26. Emmadog says:

    We hear some of those things now and then. Humans can be real ignorant!

  27. I think I hate the dog breed comment most of all. That’s the one that pushes my buttons and triggers my Speech to the Ignorant.

    –Wags (and purrs) from Life with Dogs and Cats

  28. Most of them are true for cats too! Dumb people!

  29. Kyla says:

    A good answer is that I used to have kids AND dogs but the dogs ate the kids and I’m much happier this way.

  30. Many of those same type things can be said to a cat parent too. I have had someone tell me right after losing an animal that it was “only a dog”. I was so shocked at the time I didn’t even know how to respond. I would know now. Excellent post.

  31. mollieandalfie says:

    Sorry’z I’m back tracking’z..All’z thoze photo’z yesterday’z i didn’t know they;z had caption’z Bawahhwhahaha yeah Blond!!!!!!! I am laughing’z at Kyla ( again’z ) Wez gonna sell her tootie on Ebay 🙂 Bawahwhhahaa xxoxxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  32. The other thing that makes mom nuts is when people start shouting out commends using wrong words and signals and expect us to know what they are saying.

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  33. Great Post, Misaki. People can be so rude and heartless and they always have opinions, as they know everything better…pfffff…. I think a lot is based on lack of knowledge. Granny always says, who doesn’t want my pets, they’re not worth my furriendship…Just wanted to let you hear my voice…yes, I can speak, listen and understand! Pawkisses, Little Binky 🙂

  34. Clowie says:

    I can never work out how anyone thinks it’s okay to say things like that.

  35. I can’t believe these would be said to anyone owning a dog! The only one that I lingered on was the “bringing your dog when visiting others.” I only say this because I would ask the people we’re visiting if it’s okay…some people are allergic, there could be a variety of reasons why it wouldn’t be a good idea to bring your dog. Last year, we had a family “get together” and one couple and their kids brought their newly adopted beautiful dog. Well, we had no idea and unfortunately, their dog wasn’t friendly with our lab. So the dogs had to be separated, which wasn’t fair to our dog because we let the company dog have the yard. In all honesty, it was a chaotic night and we felt that they should have asked us. I think out of courtesy to the people you’re visiting, that would be the right thing to do.
    In summary, sure, bring your dog, but there are times where your dog might be more happy at home. We’ve had to deal with some separation anxiety in the beginning of Copper’s arrival. But it’s been 2 1/2 years now and he’s mellowed and knows his new home now and he knows his new family loves him. While it’s fun to take our dogs with us, I also think it’s important to have a dog that is somewhat independent and can be left alone for even a small period of time. Anyway, sorry for the ramble, and #4 would be completely inconsiderate to ask..thanks for the great post.
    Lauren & Copper (choc. lab) ♥

    • Misaki says:

      That is a very good point, it’s not always appropriate and you should ask first if it’s OK. I think it’s a case of being realistic/responsible about your dog and who’s going to be there etc.

  36. Cats & Co says:

    A lot of them would also work for cat-owners. Thank god, I’ve never got asked a question like those.

  37. Those things make Lady angry too!

  38. Nylabluesmum says:

    Insert the word CAT in this & I have heard all 10 in regards to Nylablue & Mingflower before her. I admit being childless (not by choice) I channel my maternal instinct thru my felines or canines & I do not care what people think.
    I was told on Satudray by a cabbie if Nylablue was his cat he would put her to sleep & be done with her!!! I almost had apoplexy I can tell you!!! If I had been close enough to Vet’s I would have told him to stop & walked rest of way…but we were too far away…I was ‘frosty’ for the rest of the ride & I received a half a**ed apology from the guy when we got to Vet’s. He did not get a tip!
    Some people see 4 leggeds as ‘just pets’; not members of their families. I have no concept of that. From my Nanna’s Chihuahua Chiquas to Nylablue & all the cats, dogs& budgies in between each has been a member of my family..PERIOD!!
    Oh & I let dogs lick me all the time & I am still alive…amazing 😉
    HAHAHA!
    Love Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue xoxoxo


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

