Kuruk: the Little Bear that Could

I was really sad to read that my brother from another mother – aka Ku – is not going to blog anymore, and instead will be concentrating on other interests.

Ku is a mallie like me. But unlike me, had a difficult start to life and had to be rescued from a puppy farm. He has written a book about his journey from a frightened starving pup, to the happy haiku-writing friend we all know and love. His book is called  Kuruk: the Little Bear that Could.

Mummy ordered his book for me a while ago, but at the same time ordered herself a book that wasn’t released yet. She assumed they would arrive separately, but they didn’t and I only got it yesterday. Silly mummy!

2014-02-18 13.02.10

mummy, we have to read my book first!

Anyway, mummy read me Ku’s story straight away and I had to wipe away a tear. It’s difficult for a spoiled pup like me to imagine the hardship of not knowing love, of walkies, and the worst thing of all not knowing when the next meal would come, if it would at all.

Ku’s story is not a depressing tale though, it’s one of hope. It’s the story of how a pup who had such a hard start to life has overcame so many issues to become both loving and trusting.

image

I’m sorry you’re not blogging anymore, Ku, I’ll miss you. But I wish you well in your new ventures.

51 Comments on “Kuruk: the Little Bear that Could”

  1. fozziemum says:

    I am sure Misaki that we will see Ku again…he is just so loved and his story so important…sometimes mums have to do mum stuff and I think he may make appearances now and then 🙂 hugs to you sweet Misaki Fozziemum xxx

  2. Sounds like a tear jerker with a happy ending. Nice review Misaki. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

  3. PigLove says:

    Tell me it’s not true! Ku is not going to blog anymore? Oh no. He will be so missed! XOXO – Bacon

  4. Ku sounds like one heck of a guy. It’s sad to remember times like that, Misaki, but it also makes us appreciate our furever families all the more!

  5. Oh, I will miss him too and his Haiku’s . I hope he will find the time once to come back.

  6. Kuruk says:

    Oh my sisfur-in-web Misaki, thank youwoowoooooo fur such a pawesome bloggy post about my bookie! I will occasionally post on my bloggy in my retirement from being a busy author, especially fur special announcements like yesterday about Nalle’s modeling career! 🙂
    I wuvwuvwuvwuwv youwoooooooooooo, Ku

  7. Kyla says:

    Oh noooooooooooooo. No more Kuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu?

  8. Wow, that would be a good book I bet.

  9. So sad to see Ku leave blog world but thank goodness the book lives. Going to check it out.

    • Had to rush off to work but saved this page so I could go back and purchase the book. Just bought it to my kindle and can’t wait to read it. Thanks again, Misaki, you’re a grrrrrrrreat friend. Good luck and lots of success to you Ku. xoxo

      • I didn’t know how to let Ku know I read and loved the book so hope it’s seen here. And, wanted to share my review because it’s a wonderfully special read and as a thank you again, Misaki, for your generous sharing big heart.
        5.0 out of 5 stars Enamored with Kuruk, February 22, 2014
        By Paulette Mahurin (usz)
        Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
        This review is from: Kuruk: The Little Bear That Could (Kindle Edition)
        Bought this book yesterday and the minute I opened it to the sweet photo of Kuruk I was hooked. A beautifully written story of a very sad situation, puppy mills and animal abuse, turns lovely with the help of biped rescuers, vets, foster family, and an ultimate a loving home and mom. This is an endearing story that tugs at the readers heart and sets us free along with Kuruk: The Little Bear That Could, because ultimately, it’s love that heals and this sweet story is strewn with just that.

        Many warm wags and wiggles,
        Max, Bella, & biped Paulette

      • Kuruk says:

        Oh Thank youwoooowoooooo fur the most pawesome review! xoxoxoxoxoxox and {{bear hugs}}} Kuruk Babybear 🙂

  10. Frankie and Ernie says:

    It always breaks our heart to lose one of our blogging furends… No matter WHAT the reason.

  11. huskies622 says:

    Never saw the Ku blog before, it is pretty special. As are YOU Misaki!
    Kiki and Nala

  12. Emma says:

    We were surprised and saddened too.

  13. Mom and I read and loved Ku’s story in Mom’s Kindle. We will miss our friend, but hope we’ll see him around the blogosphere and the Facebook-sphere forever.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  14. Mum can’t read books like that, they make her too depressed.
    Dip and Elliot x

  15. We know Misaki, we were very sad and had leaky eyes when we heard that Ku was going to take time to adventure and no longer blog. We LOVED Ku’s book. Mom got us a copy too!
    Marty and the gang

  16. speedyrabbit says:

    Ku is one cool pup Misaki,xx Speedy

  17. Nylabluesmum says:

    WE too Misaki are saddened that Kuruk has taken ‘retirement’ but he is still around the blog world visiting & doing special blog posts!
    We too have a copy of his pawtastic book & Nylablue loves whe I read his story to her as she was a puppy mill breeding Queen so she relates to Ku’s story ALOT!
    Do not worry Misaki; many authors & athletes go into retirement & then return….maybe this will happen with Kuruk 😉
    Love Sherri-Ellen & Nylablue xoxoxo

  18. Ann Staub says:

    Oh how sad Misaki! Maybe he will still keep in touch with you. You could be doggy pen pals or something!

  19. A Husky Life says:

    I was sad to read about Ku’s retirement as well!

  20. pawedblog says:

    Aww Misaki! That’s really sad, BUT how great that mum got you your very own piece of Ku that you can keep close to you!
    Hugs, Carrie, (Myfie, Ellie and Millie) x

  21. WHAT!! Ku not blogging??? Is Swami Zoe??? I have been gone far too long…and we luvd Ku’s book!

  22. Nikitaland says:

    We will miss Ku too!

  23. Nylabluesmum says:

    We ALL hope Kuruk ‘unreetirez”…. 😉


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

