check-up

The other day we received a card from the vet to say I was due my annual check-up, which made mummy realise that I’ve been living with them for 2 years now. How quick that’s gone!

Sharing my life with humans is not always easy, they have some pretty weird ideas at times. For example, for the past few weeks mummy has been stressing about my weight. You see the last time I was weighed I’d put on a couple of kilos, plus a few people have commented that I look ‘filled out’ and ‘broader’ whatever that means. I get regular exercise and I’m fed a measley amount of good quality food. But if I’m honest I’m a very skilled begger and can usually score quite a few treats through the day, both from other dog walkers, people feeding birdsΒ  (bread – yum!) as well as whatever discarded food there is in the park – bearing in mind we live near a Macdonalds. Mummy was worried that the vet would say I would need to go on the D word – oh the horror!

But not only did I let the vet inject me and squeeze the kennel cough stuff up my nose without even blinking, he said I am very muscly and that my weight was absolutely perfect:-) Woohoohoo! I guess all my wrestling with Sebastian has paid off. I think that deserves another treat, right?

2014-02-04 19.01.52

treat??

Have you had to have a check-up recently?

60 Comments on “check-up”

  1. Ann Staub says:

    Phew! Glad you don’t need a diet Misaki. As are you I’m sure!

  2. Oh Misaki…I could have saved you and your mummy a trip to the vet: YOU ARE PERFECT!

  3. fozziemum says:

    That’s great news about the D word Misaki!! people think Doc is plump but Dr Rayya say’s it’s muscle too…so peeps can be very wrong πŸ™‚ I say treats are in order πŸ˜‰ hugs Fozziemum xx

  4. Lucky you, M. I knew you would check out perfectly. Mom weighs me every week. She is afraid my skinny legs won’t hold me up if I get fat. We celebrate with a treat when I weigh 21 pounds. (or 22). If I weigh any more than that, I am on treat restriction. I’m glad you got to celebrate!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  5. Retro rover says:

    Time flies I can’t believe I gave had tubby 13 yrs and Norbert nearly 12
    Retro rover

  6. Well Misaki BRAVO on your good check-up however if I was a girlie dog I’m not sure I’d like being called “muscly” ! I guess it’s way better than being called tubby though so SMILE pretty girl because you’re happy and healthy….woo woo woo!!

    Hugs, Sammy

  7. Great news Misaki that the D word does not have to be discussed. Wow you get rich pickings from The Big Mac? Way to go pal. No check up here for the time being, thankfully. Have a marvellous Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

    • Misaki says:

      Oh Molly, you wouldn’t believe the things people through on the pavement: chips, burgers, hashbrowns…I’ve got to be quick otherwise the peeps stop me. But I’m just doing my bit to keep our town clean πŸ™‚

  8. I’ve got a card from the vet today. I’m so glad your weight is perfect! I hope I can say the same when I have to sit on that scale-thingy :o)

  9. We didn’t need the vet for that. I could’ve told your momma you were pawfect! Silly humans.

  10. PigLove says:

    aaww We knew you were perfect just the way you are Misaki ((HOGS AND SNOUT KISSES!)). Looks at the calendar. Eeeww – it’s almost time for me to go. Off to hide the calendar now from mom/dad. XOXO – Bacon

  11. p.m.terrell says:

    Congratulations on such a great checkup, Misaki! And congratulations on not being fat. Our Eddie, the Jack Russell, is what Mummy calls a “Chunky Monkey”. We all have to eat diet food now and while two of us look great, Eddie just keeps getting chunkier. Lots of love from Simone the collie and Eddie & Lucy the JRs.

  12. Kyla says:

    You need to be in shape. You have to represent Blogville in the Iditarod next month.

  13. Frankie and Ernie says:

    You Look PERFECT to US… Glad that you got that DOGTOR visit out of your way fur a year. THAT is super.

  14. Barney the Corgi says:

    haha I can do the “poor me” stare pretty good. And I just stare like the kitty from Shrek and my mom gives in and gives me some food lol! We dogs are good at that.

  15. cecilia07 says:

    Yay Misaki I knew you were purrfect!! But it is always nice to hear the Vet say so
    Hugs madi your bfff

  16. Kuruk says:

    Wooohoooo Misaki! Tell your Mama that you might still fill out a bit until you are 3!

  17. Definitely deserves another treat. Maybe even two for that cute photo. πŸ˜‰

  18. speedyrabbit says:

    you are perfectly beautiful Misaki,xx Speedy

  19. Yay for good reports!!!

  20. We will have to take up wrestling too if it makes you as fit as that!
    Dip and Elliot x

  21. So glad to hear the vet gave you a thumbs up! Being overweight is no fun – makes our lives shorter and harder to live! Good for you Misaki.

  22. That’s great Misaki! Wish my weight was perfect! I’m a fat boy BOL!

  23. Phew, glad you didn’t hear the D word..BOL xxooxxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  24. Emma says:

    Thank goodness you don’t need to go on a diet! That vet place is no fun, glad you are done with that.

  25. You are a healthy specimen Misaki! πŸ™‚ Good health is a blessing but diet and exercise help.
    Hope you get lots of treats! πŸ™‚

  26. So glad you got a clean bill of health and are the perfect weight. congrats on that, we know it can be hard.

  27. Excellent! Mom is unhappy that so many treats do not say how many calories are in them! Our checkup will be next month!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  28. The OP Pack says:

    We sure hope all that good behavior at the VET earned you some extra cookies. And getting floofy??? We think you are lovely as you are.

    Woos – Phantom, Ciara, and Lightning

  29. Glad you passed the health check with flying colours Misaki!

  30. Judy & C.A.T.S says:

    We are happy that your check up was so good. You were very well behaved at the Vet, Misaki. It isn’t very much fun being examined and it’s really hard to behave. We have to try really hard to be good at the Vet’s. Thank goodness you don’t need to go on a diet. You get lots of exercise so you can work off any treats that you get. Love, Cali, Andy, Tater and Shelly (C.A.T.S)

  31. Marty the Manx says:

    Yeah!!!! Congrats on a good check-up! Good job being a gentleman at the V.E.T. we all know how hard that is. Just take mom and dad for an extra walk so you can get that extra treat you deserve today!

  32. Dogs N Pawz says:

    You are so lucky Misaki! Our mommy has Ash on a diet and Ash thinks she is starving all the time. I have to admit, Ash is kind of big and it wouldn’t hurt her one bit to lose some pounds! So glad you don’t have to go on a diet! You are so very perfect!

  33. rmudge says:

    I’m glad to hear that you are doing well! That d-word can be really tough. I bet a playful pup like you could get the weight down pretty quick πŸ™‚

  34. No check up planned but I agree the food rations could be significantly improved here too! *waggy tail*

  35. Amy and Toby says:

    Misaki you are so lucky not to hear the D word. After the holidays I heard the L word, as in “love handles”. I’m so hungry I’ll even eat the green beans I get for treats these days. But I have lost a few pounds, only 4.9 to go, then I plan never to eat another carrot for as long as I live.
    You were “muscular”! Way to go! Your pal, Toby

  36. Dear dawg, Misaki…now you are reminding Ma that I am due for my checkup. Ugh! I didn’t think you would need to be on the “D” word. Who would say such cruel things about you “filling out”, etc. Swines! You look just beautiful!
    *Cairn cuddles*
    Oz

  37. Coccolino says:

    Lucky that you don’t need a diet, could you imagine that?! Guess all that running and walking you do comes in handy for a vet check up πŸ™‚

  38. huskies622 says:

    We are very jealous of you not needing a diet. We are being starved here! Last time we had a checkup Kiki was told she was not only fluffy, but also chunky! We need your diet secrets!
    Your friends, Kiki and Nala

  39. ScottieMom says:

    Glad to hear your checkup went well! One of these days we hope to have a good one for both Heather and Mr. K. They’re due for another checkup soon. Heather’s liver values were still high when we went and we’re keeping a sharp eye on her gall bladder as well. Mr. K, on the other hand, was told he needs to drop a pound or two. I don’t think he was happy to hear that! Much love, The Scottie Mom.

  40. Kia says:

    That’s pawsome! Glad your check up went well and that your weight is absolutely perfect! I should be having a check up some time soon πŸ™‚
    xoxo Simba

  41. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Misaki

    I’m not surprised they thought you’re pawfect, kinda obvious! πŸ™‚

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

