Being useful

The other day mummy was out to lunch with some work colleagues and they all commented that she doesn’t drink tea or coffee (which she doesn’t). One of them said: ‘how do you get up without a morning coffee?’ Her answer: ‘I have a dog’. And it’s true! I’m excellent at waking her up. Daddy has been working the late shift the past week or so, and if he gets in after she’s fallen asleep, I rush upstairs to wake her so she knows he’s home. I know she REALLY appreciates that. Plus if it’s a choice between yucky coffee and doggie kisses, I know which one I’d choose!

After I’ve taken her for our evening walkies, she tends to sit on her butt in front of the TV, and after a day of sitting in front on her Mac at work, she’s feeling pretty lazy atm. So she’s decided she needs to up her fitness and bought a zumba game for the wii. When she tried it out the other night it looked like so much fun I decide to join in. Apparently jumping up and weaving through her legs aren’t official game moves, but I think it’s good to be spontaneous, don’t you? She turned it off soon after that. I guess I wore her out. Job done!!

DSC_0199

It’s times like this I know how useful I am to her 🙂

How do you help your peeps out?

80 Comments on “Being useful”

  1. Who needs an exercise program or special equipment when they have their own personal MISAKI???!!! I’m thinking you keep your Mum in good shape on all the walkies and playing that you do…….I’m trying to get my Mom to take better care of herself but I’m afraid it’s mostly MY fault that she’s not out and about because I DEMAND that she be sitting so I can nap on her lap. Guess that’s not a very good way to encourage her to move is it?!

    Hugs, Sam

  2. Rachael says:

    Great work Misaki. You really earn your place in your family. Fancy alarm clocks? NAH! Expensive gyms? NAH! You pay for yourself really 🙂

  3. What a fabulous and very useful dog you are and what a great grin!

  4. good job and what a great smlle

    retro rover

  5. You are a very useful doggie, M. I am also useful, especially when Mom is cooking. Besides keeping the floor immaculate, I am apparently “always underfoot” which I’m pretty sure is a good thing in cooking and Zumba… Right??

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  6. Oh Misaki you are such a great exercise buddy…they say that’s the key to successful exercise program! Keep up the good work…your mummy & daddy will surely thank you for it! bark bark bark

  7. fozziemum says:

    Mummy would certainly prefer the doggie kisses..we have to close our door to the doggies after Forrest ate my partial dentures hahahahaah 😉

  8. Oh misaki, you are so very helpful. I would love to have doggy kisses in the morning to get me going. Sometimes I’m lucky enough to get kitty kisses or get woken up by gentle purring.

  9. Wow a wii-game for peeps&pets – not bad! I think it’s okay to jump up and to wave through her legs, the zumba-instruction says, you should remove tables and furnitures, but NOT the dogs :o)

  10. p.m.terrell says:

    Good for you being so useful to your mummy, Misaki! Maybe a new year’s resolution isn’t just “getting fit” but “getting fit with Misaki”?

  11. Getting mum fit is a nobel task Misaki and we think you did a great job. A bit of jumping around and ducking and diving does all good. Have a marvellous Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  12. PigLove says:

    Awesome job Misaki!! I can’t say my mom doesn’t enjoy her morning cup of coffee because she does. But, I get her there. Since having me, she hasn’t had to set an alarm clock ever. I get her up right at 6:30AM for the worky place. What would our humans do without us my friend? Can you imagine their world? XOXO – Bacon

  13. You are so useful! Wow, really an inspiration. I need to start trying that when Momma does her yoga and dancing on the Wii. I bet it would add an interesting challenge to the moves. But I’m a whole lot better at keeping Momma IN bed than waking her up. When we’re all snuggled together and warm, Momma keeps hitting the snooze button instead of getting up!

  14. Kyla says:

    No coffee or tea in the morning? Watch out for the morning martinis.

  15. You are very helpful. Look at all the thing you help your mom with. Fitness being one of them.

  16. Kuruk says:

    Misaki you are a pawesome helper! And what a beauwooowooootiful smile!

  17. cecilia07 says:

    Mol Misaki you are the best wake me up anyone needs
    Hugs Madi your bfff ps and your mom is funny

  18. Frankie and Ernie says:

    No need fur Clocks or Coffee with YOU to get the morning off to a GRRRRRReat start.

  19. Jodee says:

    What a nice story. Right, you are useful!

  20. Marcie says:

    Quite useful…sounds like you encourage her to get up and moving several times a day! 🙂

  21. Well, Mom has me AND Cody to wake her up, but since she practically has coffee in her veins, that isn’t enough. I help her out by acting as 24 hr security. Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  22. You are very useful to have around the house Misaki!

  23. Misaki, it sounds like you are extremely useful to your mom. Helping her wake up at any and all hours, keeping her well-exercised…what more could a mom want?!?
    *Cairn cuddles*
    Oz

  24. martyb007 says:

    you are lovely Misaki and so very useful to your mom…bet she is happy you help her out so much.

  25. Judy & C.A.T.S says:

    What a great way to wake up. You are much better than coffee. Our Mom has heard many good things about Zumba. It is supposed to be really fun, unlike most workouts which are torture. We hope your Mum will let us know how she is doing with her Zumba. Love, Cali, Andy, Tater and Shelly (C.A.T.S)

    • Misaki says:

      It’s loads of fun cos it’s more like dancing then proper aerobics – not that she’s very good at it, but I think enthusiasm is the key:-)

  26. Hehe Misaki Zumba sounds like great fun! My mum loves coffee… That’s ok because I can snooze when she has to get up!

  27. Oh, Misaki, what would your mummy do without you? Well, maybe she would worry less about breaking her hip while doing the wii zumba game, but that’s beside the point. 😉 My mommy decided yesterday that she would like to start jumping rope for exercise. I immediately saw a huge accident just waiting to happen, so I barked and barked and jumped all over her until she stopped. Potential disaster averted!

    • Misaki says:

      Oh Miss HL your mummy is so lucky you’re around to keep an eye on her. Can you imagine what would’ve happened if you hadn’t been there!

  28. You’ve a lot to smile about. I love that your mummy said, “I have a dog.” That is my favorite pick me up any time of the day. Love your smiling photo!

  29. Laika says:

    How funny it is to exercise with your mom.

  30. Our Mummy played that zumba game a few times but whee kept squeaking to the music then letting out agonizing squeals every time she bounced towards our cage. Whee weren’t hurt or scared, which just liked distracting her and testing her concentration skills!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  31. Will and Eko says:

    Nature’s best alarm clock! Never misses a morning and no need for batteries. Also, I thought it was illegal or something for Brits not to drink tea!

  32. Well that is very useful of you!! Great job!
    I am sure your human appreciated it!!!
    Well I help my human out by giving a bath to her feet, see she may think they are clean enough but a dogs nose, knows!
    So I have taken up the job of licking them clean myself! Although she always says yuck and moves her feet away but I know one day she will appreciate it!
    ((husky hugz))
    “love is being owned by a husky”

  33. Neither of our people drink coffee, but they both drink tea. Lady drinks mostly caffeine free tea – she likes the warmness of it (especially in the winter!). We have been helping Lady work out too, it is lots of fun! Happy helping! Lee and Phod

  34. You gotta be careful, Misaki–the Humans are kinda breakable!

  35. Novroz says:

    Aha! I will definitely chose the yucky coffee 😉

    my turtles help me by being cute…well I think you know what I meant 😉

  36. raisingdaisy says:

    Well done Misaki! Just make sure your mom doesn’t end up on her butt from you weaving through her legs instead of just to watch tv! 😉 LOL Hey we love that pic of you!!

  37. Oh Misaki, I likes your style gurl!!! I do the same thingie to Ma when she tries to ‘exercise’ without me, and somehow she stops too. When will they learn that exercise is no funs with out US??!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  38. dougalldog says:

    Floyd and I like to help her hang out the washing. But help I mean, get under her feet when she carries the basket out to the line, try tripping her over a few times, race around like lunes while she hanging out the washing (getting under her feet some more) then try an entice her into a game with the empty basket once she’s done… We’re very helpful!

  39. Mags Corner says:

    What a great helper you are sweet Misaki. Pooh and Patches wake up Chancy and me every morning, they are our alarm clock. Hugs and nose kisses


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

