Old friends, bookends

I’ve heard some really sad news that I wanted to share. My friend and mentor Bud has died:-( I heard through another dog walker that he collapsed in the park last week. Unfortunately I don’t have his family’s contact details so can’t pass on my condolences, instead I’m sending a virtual hug to them. Run free Bud xxxxx

Bud was my first ever friend. He was a handsome white German Shepherd, very calm and gentle. He was a senior dog but still loved going for walks. And he always carried a ball in his mouth. Whenever I saw him I’d rush over and jump all over him. Although he didn’t want to play his tail would always wag in a loop when he saw me.

I’ve mentioned Bud in a few posts, but I think this one is my favourite: https://themisadventuresofmisaki.wordpress.com/2013/04/18/windy-thursday/

I’m so sad that I only have the picture of Bud that I used in the post I mentioned above and it’s not a very flattering one. Although it is kinda funny I guess.

wpid-20130418_072333.jpg

 ‘Preserve your memories, they’re all that’s left you’ – Simon and Garfunkel

Goodbye my friend, I’ll miss you xxx

42 Comments on “Old friends, bookends”

  1. So sorry to hear about your friend Bud. You shared some good times together.
    Run free Bud.
    Dip Bridge and Elliot

  2. Dalton says:

    A lovely tribute.

  3. Sad to lose old pals. Sounds like Bud had a good life.

  4. So sorry to read your pal Bud has passed away. We send hugs and hope he runs free and fast over the rainbow bridge.
    Best wishes Molly

  5. fozziemum says:

    Oh Misaki I am so sorry abut your friend Bud…my little sister has a white german shepherd and his name is Ski..he has a disease where he is slowly losing his feeling in his legs..it is heart breaking and when I visited him last I cuddled him so much …this is so sad that you cannot say goodbye..and I feel for you as I think of Ski our White shepherd boy who we may not have for long either. Hugs and loves to you all and a beautiful tribute xxxxxxx

  6. I’m so sorry to hear your Pal has passed to the other side, Misaki. The photo is so gorgeous, but the greatest photo lives in the heart forever. Pawkisses 😦

  7. REtro Rover says:

    Im so sorry to hear this

    retro rover

  8. Misaki, we are so sorry to hear about the death of your friend. Thank you for telling us about him. He sounded like a very nice dog. Run free Bud! Lee and Phod

  9. Coccolino says:

    Misaki, we are so sorry for your loss. How sad. It’s good that he passed on some of his wisdom to you so you can carry on in his name. xo

  10. cecilia07 says:

    MISAKI
    Mom and I are so sorry to read about Bud. What a handsome friend and mentor. For sure he has angel wings now and is smiling down on your.
    hugs madi your bfff

  11. Nice of you to remember your pal Misaki. Condolences to you and to his family.

  12. Frankie and Ernie says:

    We are sorry to hear this sad news about your furst ever furend. Pawhaps some of our Rainbow Bridge furends will deliver your words to Bud.

    Run Free and Fast BUD.

  13. p.m.terrell says:

    Misaki, I am so very sorry about Bud. But God bless him, his owner was right there when he collapsed (I’m sure, since they were at the park) and he did not pass over the rainbow bridge by himself… And it sounds like he did not suffer. And all of us here at the Terrell home believe that when we pass over that rainbow bridge, all of God’s creatures that we have loved throughout our lives will be there waiting for us, with Frisbees and balls and the zest for playing that they had in their prime.

  14. Amy and Toby says:

    Oh, this is so sad. I hope maybe Bud’s people will visit the park to remember and get a little comfort from seeing the other dogs playing, and you can give them condolences and reminisce a little.

  15. PigLove says:

    Oh dear. I’m so sorry my friend. May Bud be running freely now watching over you. Friendship will always be there. XOXO – Bacon

  16. I am so very sorry for the loss of your buddy, Misaki! xoxox

  17. raisingdaisy says:

    We’re so sorry to hear about Bud. My heart breaks for you and his family.

  18. Kyla says:

    That’s the way I want to go-just keel over. It saves the peeps from the agonizing decision.

  19. I’m really sorry to hear about your friend Bud, it’s never easy to lose a furry friend.

  20. Misaki, I’m sad with you for Bud. I know, it is so hard to lose a friend. Send you a big hug.

  21. Kuruk says:

    So sorry for your friend’s passing Misaki! Sending you lots of wuvwuvwuwuv!

  22. pawedblog says:

    So very sorry to hear of your friends departure Misaki! Treasure those memories, indeed!
    Hugs and Licks, Carrie, Myfie, Ellie and Millie x

  23. Ruby says:

    I am so very sorry about your friend. I’m sure Bud is now running free in a beautiful park across the bridge.

    Ruby

  24. Emmadog says:

    So sorry to hear about him, but on the other hand, if you have to go, why not on a walk which is where you enjoy being and not in a vet clinic. Maybe you will run into his family some day.

  25. It’s never an easy thing to lose a friend. Maybe, he is now friends with my own dog Spencer who crossed over the rainbow bridge earlier this year.

  26. lmluciani says:

    So sorry you lost your friend…it sounds like he was a good buddy.

    Kiki and Nala

  27. Misaki, so sorry for the loss of your friend. At least you have a photo of the two of you together…even if it is not the best photo…it still is a fond memory preserved.
    *Cairn cuddles*
    Oz

  28. Oh that is just too sad Zackie. Only a few sleeps left now 🙂 xxooxxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  29. Oh Misaki we are so terribly sorry!!! ((((hugs))))

  30. That’s so sad. Whee are sorry for the loss of your furfriend and our thoughts go out to the family 😦

    Just before Pigmas too, they must be heartbroken

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  31. Oh, we are sorry you lost your furiend. It is always so sad.

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  32. I’m so sorry you’ve lost your friend. Maybe you’ll see Bud’s people again sometime with a new friend for you.

  33. The OP Pack says:

    So sorry to hear about the passing of your pal Bud. Soft woos and gentle hugs to his family.

    Woos – Phantom, Ciara, and Lightning

  34. spittythekitty says:

    I think that’s a furry nice picture of you and Bud together–you was being a silly girl and Bud was enjoying hanging out with you. I bet Bud looked forward to seeing you Misaki…I know I would. We will think good thoughts for Bud’s family and the happy life they had together XOXOXO

  35. pennypup says:

    Kyuss and I send our condolences on the loss of your friend, Bud. =[
    *hug*

  36. writetowag says:

    Trev and I send our tender condolences for you today…Bud was a handsome lad indeed…BIG hugs, healing and soft woofs are being sent your way!!!!

  37. That is so sad :(. I’m truely sorry about your friend.

    Lots of hugs,
    Francesca

  38. Teagan says:

    It’s always sad to lose old friends. Several of the pals I had when I was a wee pup have all passed over the bridge and we miss seeing them.

  39. Bassa's Blog says:

    Very sorry to hear the sad news about your friend Bud 😦

  40. Nylabluesmum says:

    Eeoww Misaki we iz so sad dat yer furend Bud went to Summerland so quick like. Me nose how sad it iz to lose a furend…we will purray fer him tonite!
    Run free sweet Bud….xxxx
    Lub Nylablue n Sherriellen Mum =^..^=


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

