making daddy look silly

Sorry for the long wordy post, but wanted to share with you something that happened the other day which made Daddy look really silly!

To give you some background to what I’m about to tell you, Daddy can check my teeth, brush me and even bath me without too much fuss, but as soon as the nail clippers come out, I hide under the table. I don’t even like it when mummy or daddy cut their own nails and have to lick their fingers and toes better when they’ve finished.

I’ve been to the groomers a few times to get it done, but the last time didn’t go well. You see I tend to try to nudge their hand away with my nose. To be clear, I don’t show my teeth or growl, and definitely don’t try to bite, it is just a nudge. But the groomer thought I was being aggressive and got stroppy about it. And because they didn’t want to go through that again, Mummy and Daddy put off taking me. Which was fine with me! Daddy tried to cut my claws himself a few times but I wasn’t having any of it, I wriggled around like an eel and made a hasty escape! They had hoped my nails would wear down themselves, but they hadn’t and were really long.

Mummy tried to contact a different groomers, but they weren’t answering their phone and didn’t return her calls (perhaps I’d been blacklisted??) Then the other day we received a free voucher for a nail clipping from my vets. M and D figured they might as well take advantage of it so Daddy took me down there on Monday afternoon. He was dreading it.

Now unlike a lot of my bloggy friends, I love going to the vets. It’s in the back of Pets at Home so I get to have a good sniff about the shop first, shoppers usually stop to say hello and the staff always make a fuss of me. This time I made friends with a teenage boy who gave me a great bellyrub:-) Daddy called me a floozy lol.

Anyway when it was my turn, Daddy explained I didn’t like my claws being cut and there would likely be some resistance. He was expecting to have to hold me through it, but instead the vet nurse took me out back. She returned 2 mins later with me wagging my tail. She said she didn’t understand why daddy had been so concerned as I hadn’t minded them being cut at all! Daddy was speechless. Isn’t it great when you get to show up your peeps! I guess it helped that the nurse was so nice and kept telling me how pretty I am. There may have also been a few treats involved but that’s between me and her ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think I’ll be going back there for my mani/pedi’s in the future!

Do you like getting your claws trimmed? And do your peeps do it or do you go to the groomers or vets?

65 Comments on “making daddy look silly”

  1. Ho ho ho! Know where you’ll be going in future Misaki ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh Misaki…I am just like you: don’t touch my nails and don’t even come near my teeth! SHE brushes my teeth for me but I only let HER because it beefy flavored…bark bark bark. My groomer does my nails but I still don’t like it…not one little bit!

  3. Misaki – what a good girl you were for the vet lady when she gave you a mani-pedi! My Mom and Dad clip my nails at home – Daddy holds me and Mom does the clipping. It only takes a few minutes but remember I have extra toesies on my front paws so it takes a LITTLE bit longer than your average cat!!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  4. Maybe your daddy was thinking of me Misaki. You’re a trooper. Me, on the nails (or anything else), not so much.

  5. Dalton says:

    Good trick my pal! BOL

  6. Revenge is a dish best eaten cold Misaki and that sure left daddy with egg on his face LOL. Have a tremendous Thursday with your trim feet.
    Best wishes Molly

  7. Wow, pretty interesting, Misaki! Simone loves to have her nails done but the groomer always does it. Lucy Loo and Eddie are terrible about it and they don’t want their paws touched at all. For some reason, everybody does better when Mummy and Da are out of sight when it happens!

  8. Hehe, way to show them. My cats are used to it, the youngest, boo does get a little squirrely but I talk him through it. The hardest is my girl cat bitty because she has an auto immune disease that causes her pads to ulcer and nail beds to get infected so naturally she doesn’t like her nails to be messed with.

  9. Ha ha! I can just imagine the look on your dad’s face. I do not like getting my nails done . . . at all! I go to the groomer or the vet to have them clipped. Mommy always says, “I’d give anything for a mani-pedi, Miss Lee,” but I don’t see the thrill. By the way, I’m a floozy too. Mommy constantly has to say to me, “Miss Lee! Be a lady!” BOL!

  10. Ah, Misaki…so different but yet so the same. I hate when Ma, Daddy-dog or the groomer tries to cut my nails. I will have none of it. But, take me to the vet and have them trim my nails and BAM! I am an angel. I think I actually trust the vet/vet tech more than the other humans and the vet/vet tech gets it done in a flash, which I also like. I say stick with what works for you and use the vet for your mani/pedi.
    Oz

  11. Kyla says:

    I hate it. I’ve had it done at the vet and I still hate it. Don’t mess with my feet.

  12. Frankie and Ernie says:

    GOOD GOING GIRRRRRRL. That was super. We are glad that you did so well.
    Mom and dad do OUR nails… we lay on our back and dad cuddles us… while mom clips. We don’t exactly LOVE it butt we get treats at the end and so it is OK. We have had it done PAWFESSIONALLY… and did fine… butt we would RATHER have M & D do ours.
    Is sounds like you will be going the PAWfessional way in the future.

  13. I dislike it and it’s not easy to clip easy’s nails, because I always put my paw back. We combine the pawdicure with our vet appointments. Butt I’ve read somewhere in blogville, that grinding the nails is much better than clipping ( no cutting of the cuticle and no splinter of the nails) and some dogs who are nervous while clipping their nails do better while they grind their nails. We will try it when I visit the vet next time .

  14. Our groomer uses a grinder on our nails and they look nice and smooth. We tolerate it.

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  15. I’m glad you got them trimmed, sometimes our peeps make too much of a fuss. I’m not crazy over a trim, but i will mostly sit still and let mom have at it.

  16. Will and Eko says:

    I’m sure he was happy to be wrong. Eko will do just about anything for food, so luckily he will sit still for me to grind his nails because he knows it earns him a treat.

  17. PigLove says:

    Oh my! You were wonderful! Me, snorts – only if it’s my mom. I’ll let her do just about anything to me. She actually has a nail file that she uses on my hooves. It works, she rubs my belly, talks to me and I’m happy. If its anyone else – snorts. Yeah, right! XOXO – Bacon

  18. haha! Great story!
    My girls hate having their nails trimmed! Especially Mika! OMG she screams and cried the WHOLE time it’s being done, you would think someone is beating her senseless! LOL

  19. Kuruk says:

    Good job Misaki! Me and Nalle walk so much Mama doesn’t have to trim our nails, just our dewclaws. We don’t fuss though. And you are so pretty tooowoooowoooooo!

  20. Good trick to play on dad Misaki. Luckily our nails wear down on their own, so we don’t ever have to have them clipped!

  21. Silly Misaki nail trims aren’t so bad are they?

    Now, if only we could convince Boomer and Dottie of the same. Boomer will growl when you touch his feet but you can trim his nails and he just takes it, I think he’s just voicing his displeasure in the situation. Dottie on the other hand is a whole other mess, She will nip at your hands, kick and try to pull her feet away. We’ve tried so many things to get her to stop to no avail so now I take her to work and we trim her nails there at the clinic.

  22. Andrea says:

    Most dogs are naughty for their owners and good for us groomers. ๐Ÿ™‚ Speaking as a groomer, I don’t care if your dog nudges me/pulls his feet/bounces around/vents in my ear. In fact if all your dog does is nudge I would label him as “Good” for nail trims.

    I do not like being growled at, seeing teeth (except for smiles, which are fine) or getting bitten. Very rarely do any of those things actually happen. ๐Ÿ™‚ Very rarely do I have to muzzle.

  23. Madi and mom says:

    WTG MISAKI!
    It is up to us to keep our perps humble and never ever let them have a clue what we are thinking! Mas for nails..it isn’t my favorite thing because dad has to hold me like a baby which means I am on my back w my belly exposed…I don’t like that part. By holding me that way mom has a clear wuick shot at my daggers. She is usually quick too
    HUGSMADI your bfff

  24. Madi and mom says:

    Peeps not perps MOL MOL.

  25. He he he, it doesn’t take much to make OUR dad look silly, that’s for sure!
    Dip Bridge and Elliot x

  26. Put us with our biped and we’d do the same. To the vet for treats, clip away. wag wag, Max & Bella

  27. fozziemum says:

    Oh Misaki good girl…Forrests nails stay well done Docs get longish..we run them on hard ground but try trimming Docs and oh boy..the poor boy wet his pants at the vets..they had to give him a mild sedative and still it was a nightmare..he ended up having them done but it was not pretty..he gets terribly stressed…I can do everything else with Doc but the nails…no way..for a small dog it takes almost an entire suburb to get him still….

  28. Mags Corner says:

    We are happy for you sweet Misaki that you got your nails trimmed with no issues. Chancy gets his trimmed at the vet he never minds it at all unless he has a sore toe then he yelps out one time. He has one toe where the nail splits easily and that toe stays tender a lot. His nails are black and I am afraid I will clip them too short so I do not clip them. Hugs and nose kisses

  29. Ann Staub says:

    Don’t worry Misaki, there are so many dogs who hate this! And lots of them are super naughty too… glad that you were good for the vet nurses. I’m sure they appreciated it!

  30. You let them clip your claws?!! What is this madness?!!

    Whee hope you at least gave a token escape attempt!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  31. Good trick on Dad. High paws girl!
    Mom will not give me a pedi. She says I’m a squirmer.
    My groomer does it. Last time my groomer did my nailsโ€ฆ she made me bleed a wee little bit. I guess I squirmed too much for her too. I don’t think any of us like to get our nails cut.
    Wags,
    Ranger

  32. You were so good that now they’ll want to trim your nails all the time. What were you thinking?

    But seriously, I find that going quickly helps a lot. Most vet techs aren’t as nervous as we fussy moms and dads and get it over with quickly.

    I’m glad it wasn’t too hard for you, Misaki.

  33. raisingdaisy says:

    I HATE having my nails clipped! My mom and dad do my grooming, but I let them know I DO NOT appreciate it! BUT – I do get a treat after each paw, so that part is pretty cool. ๐Ÿ™‚

  34. By the way, whee have a little surpise waiting for you on the blog!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  35. Judy & C.A.T.S says:

    We don’t even like getting our paws touched and we hate getting our nails trimmed. We go to the vet to get it done. Good job showing up your dad. Love, Cali, Andy, Tater and Shelly (C.A.T.S)

  36. pawedblog says:

    Misaki, what a good girl! I suspect daddy didn’t mind being made to look silly on this occasion, besides it made that groomer look sillier. Which is even better, right?
    Myfie, Ellie and Mille aren’t too bothered about having theirs done, in fact when we cut our nails Millie comes and gives us her paw! But the groomer does it because I am a coward! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  37. Nylabluesmum says:

    Apawz Apawz fer ya Misaki!!! Ya did pawsum!! Me haz to have Dr. DAve do mine….me fightz like an angree Coufar n Mum can not hold me to do anyfing wif me. When me iz havin other stuff dun n Miss Terry iz da Vet Teck on duty den she holz me snug like n Dr. Dave zoomz thru trimmin me nailz..me hissez butt me doez not really mind….me just likez to hear da sound of me own hiss!!!!! MOL/BOL…
    It IZ FUN to show up da Hu’manz too izn’t it; we gotta keep dem sharp…da Hu’manz not our nailz, MOL/BOL
    Much Lub to me sweet gurlfurend..
    Nylablue n Sherriellen Mum too xoxoxoxoxoxoxo
    Pee Ess: We gotz yer purrty card today!!! Ya shure class up da joint ๐Ÿ˜‰

  38. Pets at Home in Northampton saved Oscar’s face they really are great vets x

  39. What a great surprise though! I hate all things grooming. You’re a braver lady than me

  40. catfromhell says:

    Just a secret between yous and me Misaki, me don’t mind hasing my nails cut. Me only puts up a fuss if one of the other cats or dogs is around.
    Kisses
    Nellie

  41. Zena says:

    Hi Misaki,
    I just have to say first of all thank you so much for the Christmas card – I was blown away. Especially as The Help hasn’t done anything like that this year. You now have pride of place above our fireplace and many people ask who you are ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Re: nails, I almost never have mine cut because I have an autoimmune problem which means my nails hardly grow and when they do they tend to break off or twist. Sometimes that makes me a bit sore but if I do have to go to have them cut I am very frightened. I do not like my paws touched!! Maybe I should go to your nurse ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • spittythekitty says:

      ? Hmm. I thought I replied and now prolly I will double post….but I NEVER let any Human near my claws! Never! The only time my claws got clipped was when I was knocked out when I was um, neutered ::shudder::

      Congrats for being such a good girl, Misaki!

  42. spittythekitty says:

    Oh my Cod, Misaki! I would NEVER let a Human near my paws! NEVER! The only time I ever gotted clippy-clawed was when I was UNCONSCIOUS and they cut off a couple things that were WAY more impawtant to me than my claws, MOL!!! Congrats to you, though, for being such a good floozy! Uh, girl ๐Ÿ˜‰

  43. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Haha Misaki

    What was your Dad all worried about? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m super lucky cos I don’t need to get my nails trimmed as I just wear them down, phew!

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy ๐Ÿ™‚

  44. eldogerino says:

    Hi Misaki
    Our puppy’s really like going to the vet just like you! They always meet new friends and our vet gives them some treats, so they are very happy ๐Ÿ™‚ They are 3 big dogs so we learned how to cut their nails by our-selves. At the beginning some high speed pursuits in the yard were involved but with some nice baby voice, treats and petting we convinced them that cutting nails is not so scary. So now they don’t mind at all doing that, plus they know after that “scary procedure” there’s always something yummy coming ๐Ÿ™‚
    A cheerful tail-wag from El Dogerino gang!


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

