Fur-tastic!

As I’ve said before, I like being brushed. I know alot of my bloggy buddies don’t, but being pretty hairy I get lots of loose itchy hair. A good brushing really helps to get rid of it. My brush kinda looks like a torture device but it really does the trick.

DSC_0607

Mummy has been collecting up the loose hair and a few months ago she arranged for it to be spun. It took quite a while so we’d almost forgotten about it, but a couple of days ago she received an email to say it was ready. She picked it up yesterday and we now have three balls of Misaki wool:-)

DSC_0605

my furs and the wool it was turned into

Now the only thing is, mummy can’t knit so we’re relying on nanny to turn it into a scarf or a hat or something spectacular. Once it’s done I’ll show you the results. It’s going to be pretty cool!

In the meantime, don’t forget to pop by Mollie‘s store to pick up some crimbo pressies!

shop-logo-w-url1

59 Comments on “Fur-tastic!”

  1. fozziemum says:

    What a great idea Misaki..I have a spinning wheel but need to learn to drive it..all the wool I have needs spinning so I can knit with it..can’t wait to see what you have made from your furs 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xx

  2. Rachael says:

    Wow, what a lovely idea! Best to put all of that extra fur to good use 🙂 Never heard of this before. Can’t wait to see the finished product xx

  3. Dalton says:

    That’s a fab idea!

  4. Who wouldn’t want to have a hat or scarf made with Misaki wool? Just how much can you shed?

    I can’t wait to see what your Nanny comes up with.

  5. OMD Mummy can wear you on her head BAWAHWHAHAHHQA xxoxxxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  6. Oh wow! That’s so cool to have some yarn made from YOU!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  7. Misaki your mum is so clever. What a cool idea. Maybe she can collect some more and get a mini you done? Look forward to seeing what granny comes up with.
    Have a marvellous Monday.
    Best wishes Molly

  8. How will they call this wool? Maybe Malmohair or Cashmamute? I’m so excitet, maybe that’s the stuff for a cute mini-you?

  9. Frankie and Ernie says:

    OR you could have a Misaki MUFFLER or Misaki MITTENS made from it.

  10. oh my you should find out who can make a mini Misaki out of it :-). Thank you for wishing Oscar well xxx

  11. Cool idea. We could easily do that with all the fur from Torrey. Maybe knit a sweater for little me, since I’m always cold.

  12. Kyla says:

    I don’t understand. They take the stuff off you. Now, they’re going to make a doggy coat and put it back on you? It sounds like digging a hole and filling it back up again.

  13. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    How cool,

    My Mum’s thought of doing that as I shed stacks of fur when I’m brushed – can’t wait to see what the final product is!

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  14. cecilia07 says:

    Misaki
    Your mom will love having you around her neck in the cold winter.
    Several years ago Mom saved my furs for about a year. She sent it to Angel Remington’s Mom to be spun in the yarn. We had 75 yards. Mom bought some pretty bluish yarn that complimented my furs. She made herself a scarf using about 1/2 of my furs and 1/2 of the stor bought and the other half she made me a blankie.

    hugs Madi your bffff

  15. We never knew anyone who spun their furs! We wonder how much it took to get those balls? We love to get combed out too!

    Your Pals,

    Murphy & Stanley

  16. Will and Eko says:

    Haha that’s a wild idea, I had no idea you could spin your fur! Looking forward to checking out the results.

  17. Marcie says:

    Oh wow, that’s so interesting! Is there a cleaning process for the fur before or after it is turned into the yarn? Can’t wait to see what it gets made into!

  18. Kuruk says:

    That is so cooowoooowoool Misaki! That’s what the Inuits used to do with all of our ancestors fur! Wooooooowoooooooo!

  19. Emmadog says:

    We have heard about people that spin wool out of fur and then knit sweaters…they say you should not wear those sweaters in the rain, though, or you will smell like a wet dog 😉

  20. Wow. What a good idea. Mummy says there is enough fur around here to make lots of jerseys and scarves.

  21. I never heard of this! I wish Mom would have my furs spun into yarn. As it is, she wears my furs all day every day, but not like that! I think she could knit a blanket every day with all the furs around here!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  22. Wow, how pawesome! I don’t think I shed enough for that, but it’s a pretty neat idea.

  23. Wow, what an amazing idea. Whee hope they make something for you. A nice scarf or hat maybe! ^_^

    Afterall, it is your furs!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  24. Can’t wait to see what your Lady makes out of your hair. Lee and Phod

  25. That will be one very beautiful scarf, Misaki, and very warm too. Ciara loves to be brushed but not the two boys. Mom has to be very gentle with Phantom because he is just skin and bones, no fat to cushion him. Lightning likes to bite the brush OR the hand with the brush:(

    Woos – Phantom, Ciara, and Lightning

  26. Neat! I can’t wait to see a misaki scarf.

  27. kolytyi says:

    Misaki, don’t let make misaki sweaters for both Mom and Dad!!! Avoid becoming blankies-stuff!!! Set limits!

  28. Well, that’s going to be really fun Misaki! I think you could just play with that ball! I have a friend who is a Great Pyrenees and his Mom Person did that very thing with his hair. But she never wore it because it was scratchy. That sounds like cat fur. I hope yours isn’t scratchy.

    • Misaki says:

      Hehehe playing with the balls could be fun! Must admit the wool is a bit coarser then we expected, but we’ll see what its like once its been knitted.

  29. Nylabluesmum says:

    Say Misaki maybee yer Mum cuud find sumone to knit ya a scarf fer da cold cold dayz, MOL/BOL…
    Mum used to have Bogart Sam’z fur n made stuffed peellowz…wunder what happined to dem?? Fur iz so lubly…
    Lub Nylablue n Sherriellen Mum xo

  30. WOW! This is impressive. I wonder if my sapiens would do such things with my fur. It just seems so wasted for them to vacuum it all up into the dump!


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

