Homemade treats

At the weekend, mummy decided to make me some treats. She has made some before, but not for aaaagggeeees, so I was pretty surprised and impressed.

Nanny had given her a dog treat recipe book and she chose to make one of the easiest ones, which were apple and honey bites. It was just a case of mixing apples, wholegrain flour with an egg and some honey and then baking them. They came out like this:

DSC_0340

Once they’d cooled it was the taste test. I was determined to be honest and critical.

DSC_0344

Have to say she did a pretty good job and I would happily eat them all in one go. But as usual she was a meanie and I only got 1:-( At this rate they’ll go moldy before I get to eat them all!

Does your mummy ever make treats for you? And if, so, what’s your favourite?

Today is fireworks night, so stay safe everyone. We’ve had almost constant banging over the past few nights, and I’m pretty cool with them now. The odd extra loud makes my ears prick up but other than that I’ve just ignored them. That’s not to say I won’t be pleased when they stop though.

78 Comments on “Homemade treats”

  1. Wait for me, I will take the next ferry :o) I like cakes, made with the recipe of Titan (the chesapeake retriever) and I like mom’s cheesecakes, but just for the big entertainment factor LOL

  2. fozziemum says:

    That’s some delish looking treat Misaki mum did a super job! I make bone shaped biscuits for the boys with wholemeal oats honey and peanut butter…and yes I am a meanie too make sure they don’t eat them all at once 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xx

  3. Look and sound lovely Misaki, you lucky girl!

  4. dougalldog says:

    Yum!! Why won’t my peep bake for me?!

  5. Our hooman makes mini cakes on our birthdays out of our food and alfalfa cubes which is hay, herbs and a few other bits baked together until they are hard then cooled. She hasn’t made them in awhile because she says they make the oven smelly. Silly Mummy, it makes it smell good is all!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  6. Those treats look goooood! *slurp* Mom is a one trick pony. She only ever makes me frozen Popsicle treats. Yogurt, honey, banana, and peanut butter with a cookie for a handle.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  7. Hi Misaki……your homemade treats look delicious! My Mom doesn’t make me treats – she’s pretty good about giving me treats when I ask for them though…..does that count?

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  8. I cook nothing for Doggy, except chestnuts, he loves chestnuts.

  9. That’s the good thing with having two sisters, nothing goes bad at our house with so many mouths to eat stuff!

  10. We make liver cake. Hmmmm love it. Likewise we only get a little and even worse it freezes well. Drats. Have terrific Tuesday Misaki and you too stay safe and we hope the boom booms are not too bad..
    Best wishes Molly

  11. Mags Corner says:

    Yummy, yummy sweet Misaki. Mumsy keeps saying one day she will make me treats but so far that’s all she has done. Maybe one day she will surprise me. Hugs and nose kisses

  12. My Mama now makes me biscuits that go with my breakfast and dinner. She doesn’t trust the kibble anymore. So I get what’s called “Meat Lovers Biscuits”. Apparently it’s really done wonders for my ‘doggy breath’ – its now normal and not ‘stinky breath’. I luv ‘em!

  13. Coccolino says:

    Misaki, you lucky pup! Those look delicious. I’m happy with a spoonful or fingerful of cream cheese and/or peanut butter but I’d love a little extra homemade treate too.

  14. OMD…. dos look soooooooooo yummy. Mom doesn’t make me home-made treats. (sigh)
    Aunty D gives apples bits but Mom only gives me store bought treats. I don’t think she can cook too good.
    Wags,
    Ranger

  15. Frankie and Ernie says:

    YOUR treats look MUCH better than any of the ones OUR mom makes fur US.

  16. Nikitaland says:

    Oh Misaki, those treats look so yummy! Can you share some with us?

  17. Those look yummy! Momma keeps SAYING she’s going to make us treats, but she never follows through. HRMPH!

  18. Kyla says:

    I’d love one of those but I’m on a very low fat diet. They make thinly sliced sweet potatoes in the dehydrater. Nothing added. I do like them.

  19. cecilia07 says:

    MISAKI THOSE LOOK MUST DELISH….IF YOU CUT THEM IN TO BITE SIZE PIECES I WILL JOIN YOU.
    HUGS MADI YOUR BFFF

  20. Cat Forsley says:

    That Face MISAKI !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    love and cookies xo C

  21. Did we hear treat? Drool drool drool. Wag wag wag. Where do you live? BOL Max & Bella (if you invite us over they’ll be gone B-4 they turn moldy…wag wag.)

  22. Looks tasty. Can humans eat them too?

  23. Judy & C.A.T.S. says:

    Those treats look really good. Can your mom freeze them so they won’t get moldy or would that make them mushy? We thinkz she should let you eat as many as you want. Love, Cali, Andy, Tater and Shelly (C.A.T.S)

  24. Novroz says:

    First, what’s with the firework?

    Second, I saw a husky this afternoon 🙂 he looks just like you.

    Third, yup I made treat for my turtles…it’s been a while now, I should make it again 😉

    your treat looks like we (human) can eat it too 😉

  25. Kuruk says:

    Wumwumyumyumwum!

  26. Only 1, Misaki?! Why did she make so many if you can only have 1 per day? That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard.
    *Cairn cuddles*
    Oz

  27. Lidia says:

    I tried making treats for the kitties, but I usually end up with way too much. I also don’t really like the recipes i find on the internet. Some even had sugar in them!

    • Misaki says:

      Really? I’m surprised about the sugar, most of the ones we’ve found have been superbland, though maybe its different for dogs

      • Lidia says:

        I don’t know! But I don’t plan in giving my cats treats with sugar in them. 😦 I also don’t know if flour is really that good for cats?

  28. stanze says:

    We’ll go on a ferry and help you get rid of the rest of treats before they get moldy. I’m lazy and not really the housewife and never made any treats for the dogs yet. 😦 But it’s a good idea and maybe for christmas..?

  29. Those look and sound really yummy. I need to get the recipe for my Mom Person. She makes treats for us fairly often. Usually frosty paws which are frozen things that are oh so yummy. Usually she just cuts up fruits and veggies for us.

  30. Oh those look tasty! I don’t have a proper over so I don’t bake too much because it takes forever and it’s a hassle. So I don’t think I’ve ever baked anything for Shiner before. Except for that whole cake she ate off the table and a few plates of cupcakes off the table… 😉 But I don’t think they were meant for her!

  31. Our Lady doesn’t make treats too often, even though she has a bake a bone . . . . .sigh! Our fav she made had bacon in it. Lee and Phod

  32. Your so lucky Misaki!!!! Those look FABulous gurl!!!
    Nopes, Ma NEVER makes me any treaties…I don’t even thinks she knows how to work the oven…I once saw cobwebs in there…
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  33. speedyrabbit says:

    they look yummy Misaki,see you in a couple of weeks,xx Speedy

  34. They look better than the last lot you made BAWAHHAHHWHHAHAHA Practice makes pawfect xxooxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  35. My mummy also has a couple of books with treat recipes but she’s FAR too lazy to actually make any of them so – while I wait – I’m starving here. Your treats look excellent. I think it’s really important to write about homemade stuff cos there’s a lot of crap in pet stores. Yey for your lovely mummy!

  36. Rachael says:

    Oooo they sure do look yummy Misaki! You’re a lucky pup. We’ve been baking chunks of pumpkin (left over from Halloween) as a tasty treat for Del- he LOVES it! He’s also pretty OK with the fireworks too. Glad it’s over though, Bonfire night always makes me nervous for all the scared dogs out there 🙂

  37. Clowie says:

    They look delicious! My favourite is still liver cake.

  38. Yummy yum yum! By the looks of it your mommy is a great cook! I don’t cook much for Joker anymore he has some allergies so I have to be super careful with what I give him.

  39. Nylabluesmum says:

    Doze treetz look guud enuff fer a Hu’Man or Hu’Mum to eat!!! Even me iz droolin n me haz no teefiez..maybee Mum give ya one purr day…dat wuud werk…2 purr day wuud be bettur…yah tell her me haz no teefiez n ya needz to eat \ treet fer me so ya needz 2 purr day! 😉
    Lub Nylablue xx


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

