Thunderstorms

I had planned to tell you about some water fun I had in the park yesterday.  But this morning we had the most incredible thunderstorm and I couldn’t not mention it.

I woke mummy at 5.30am to ask her what all the noise was about. She said the clouds were playing a noisy game of bitey face and was nothing to worry about. I decided to sleep on the bed anyway,  you know just incase mummy  got scared.

At 7am when we were due to head out for our walk the rain started getting heavier so out came mummy’s wellies and we set off. The rain was torrential and within moments we were both soaked. And then there was a flash of lightning.  Within seconds there was the loudest crash of thunder I’ve ever heard. I admit I freaked a little but mummy stayed calm and told me all was fine so I settled down. But really her heart was racing and she realised this had been a bad idea. She was worried I’d pick up on her nerves so we started to head home but the thunder was following us!

We’d only been out for 20mins but by the time we got back we both looked like drowned rats. Mummy decided to let the rain subside and then we’d head out again. But it was hammering against the windows and the thunder kept crashing. I wondered if it wanted to come in so I went to the front door but mummy said it liked being out in the rain.

Mummy put the tv on to drown out the sound and we played with my ball for a bit. Eventually I guess the clouds got bored of their game and it stopped, so we headed back to the park to finish my walk. Lots of other dog walkers had the same idea and everyone commented on the storm. One dog had got so upset she had to have a tranquilizer. I’m glad I wasn’t that bad.

The naughty storm has made mummy late for work, partly due to our late walk and partly because of signalling problems on the line. I hope it doesn’t come back anytime soon.

Did you have a storm this morning? And if so did you get scared?

82 Comments on “Thunderstorms”

  1. Dalton says:

    Typist heard the storm this morning, luckily it planned itself post walk but before she had to leave for work. She is hoping that it will stay away until home time as her dog is home alone and she is worried about him!

  2. dougalldog says:

    Sounds like you were pretty brave! I don’t like the clouds playing bitey face… I bark at them!

  3. Do you think I should go into my wardrobe-bombshelter?Just in case the thunderstorm will cross the channel? It’s muggy here and it looks dark like doomsday.

  4. We had flashes throughout night that kept mum and Archie up. A bit of thunder and one heavy shower and now the garden is dry again and Oscar is out patrolling. Hope you get a good walk in today 🙂 take care xx

  5. What an adventure you and your Mummy had with that thunderstorm! I think maybe my hearing isn’t as good as it was when I was younger because I used to be VERY scared of thunder – nowadays I get a little “jittery” but don’t try to run and hide from the storms. Mom says I’ve gotten more brave in my old age! I’m glad you and your Mum decided to come back home and wait for the rain to go away though – no sense getting a bath if you don’t want one right????

    Kitty Hugs, Sam

  6. finnhoward says:

    We are having some welcomed rain right now! We were only out to do our business and then came back in…it is too muggy to even breath!

  7. You are funny Misaki, wondering if the thunder wanted to come inside 😀 I feel so terrible for animals that are frightened by thunder. My previous Dalmatian was so scared that she suffered a stroke through one storm. Luckily, Litchi doesn’t mind them, as we certainly get hectic ones here. Sorry I’ve been so scarce of late but I’ve had no comms. I’m up for a little while now and trying to catch up like crazy.

  8. Whee had a really loud thundery storm today too. The hoomans were woken up by it. Some of the little hoomans were very frightened of it so whee help calm them down. It went on four hours though. From about 1:30am till 7 am and whee are still getting the occasional thundery rumble! Scary!

    Stay safe and lets hope it doesn’t come back

    Nutty, Nacho, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  9. Clowie says:

    I think we’ll get a storm later. We’ve had quite a few storms over the last couple of weeks. Some of them have been very loud.

  10. Oh you poor sweetie. I’m glad you kept mama company.

  11. Emmadog says:

    We have had several of those monster rain storms lately, but luckily we have not been caught out in them. Mom told us that loud noise was the pets up in heaven having a bowling tournament…not sure I buy that as I have never seen pets bowling.

  12. Amy says:

    Wow that storm sounds intense! We had the more rumbly kind of thunderstorm yesterday. It would be scary to be outside during a violent storm like the one you had.

  13. mollieandalfie says:

    We had some clouds playing who can bump the hardest, I was very good 🙂 only barked once. Got the rain now ..Doh xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  14. fozziemum says:

    Not bitey face clouds!! poor MIsaki and drippy mummy 😦 what a storm!! I hope you got dried off and a relaxed after your big adventure…
    Have a great day Misaki hugs Fozziemum and gang xx

  15. We always get scared when it thunders. We think it’s the sky barking at us. Simone hides behind the couch. And Eddie and Lucy try to stick to Mommy like glue. This time of year, the sky is likely to bark at us just about every evening. And we hate it and wish it would bark at someone else! Love from Simone the collie and Eddie and Lucy the JRs.

  16. Yep we had the mother of all storms this morning and hail like we have never seen. The gardens are wrecked , the drains were blocked and loads of crap game down the fire places. Took us several hours to clean up. Hope that is the last of it. Have a terrific Tuesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  17. We had a pretty loud storm here in Wichita yesterday, it was so loud that Dottie spent almost all day in her crate were she feels safe.

  18. Believe it or not we DID have a storm this morning but not as big as yours. Daddy fed me and he and mom were arguing because he wanted to take me out in the storm to poop and Mommy said No. She didn’t want me to become more afraid of thunderstorms by going out so she didn’t let Daddy do it. Glad you got home safe and sound! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  19. We had a massive storm (might have even been the same one) at 3:30 this morning! One clap of thunder was right on top of our house and it made everything shake. It was very scary!
    Piggy kisses,
    Poppy and Clover
    xxxxxxxx

  20. Will and Eko says:

    Never a dull moment at your place – luckily our storm passed overnight.

  21. Oh dear Misaki, the thunder followed you? How scary! I’m glad you are safe and dry now. Woooowoooooooo! Ku

  22. The storm woke me up this Morning, Sheba and Coco slept through it and Cody sat on the window ledge watching it.

    Sheba.

  23. Kyla says:

    A couple of days ago we had a good one but I wasn’t scared.

  24. Papoe says:

    You are so brave, Misaki!! Sorry to hear about the other dog that needs tranquilizer.
    Glad you finally had your walk 🙂

  25. dogdaz says:

    Oh my. I was out but K8 said that Sofie was hiding under a chair and Lulu would not stop barking during our most recent storm. Then all the cable, phone, and internet services got hit by lightening and went BOOM!

  26. cecilia07 says:

    Misaki
    I do not like thunder either. Thank goodness you got home quickly and safely
    No storms here this morning, ours are word in the afternoon as the heat builds up
    Hugs
    MAdi your BFFF

  27. Wow, your momma was sure lucky you were there to keep her safe!

  28. I wish we would have had a storm today with some rain, we need the rain. BUT Misaki thunder scares me too and it used to scare our late great sweet Z Cat so bad that she hid under CH’s chair and panted! Thank the heavens you got home safe and sound!

  29. We had two big storms on Friday. The second one took out lots and lots of trees, and left us without power for 95 hours or so. Hailey hates storms and now wind. Phody doesn’t seem to mind them as much, although he was a little nervous during the last ones. Staff safe. Lee and Phod

  30. FleaByte says:

    You know, when I see tranquilizers in conjunction with animals, I always see big game hunters with guns and tranq darts. I sure hope that’s not what those humans were using to tranquilize their dogs.

  31. ScottieMom says:

    You handled that well, Misaki! We didn’t have a storm this morning but we have been getting lots of afternoon storms lately. Stay dry! Much love, the Scottie Mom.

  32. Gizmo says:

    I feel ya’ Misaki…We’ve been having huge thunderstorms the last few weeks and sometimes it’s so loud the house was shaking…You’re braver than me cause I won’t go outside in them…I may have to wait a while to take care of my business but it’s better than going out where the thunder can find me…You stay safe and dry sweet girl

  33. Sage says:

    When it rains here, it’s not all loud and bangy, but I think you were very brave, Misaki. Your Mom was very smart in helping you with it. Mom and I got caught in a lot of rain recently and I DID NOT LIKE running home in it.

  34. You were a very brave girl, M. Mom and I heard some thunder when we were waking up this morning, but I wasn’t afraid. Pumpkins and street signs scare me more than thunder…..

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  35. What an adventure! We had a quiet day. I’m glad you survived!

  36. Zena says:

    Wow! that sounds quite a storm. Glad you were okay. Maybe we haven’t had a really bad storm but so far I’m okay with them. Zac used to bark at the thunder – I think he thought the clouds were challenging him! The Pup looks to me to know how to behave and as I’m usually asleep I guess he realizes there’s nothing to be afraid of.

  37. rubytheairedale says:

    Oh, sorry gurl! That does not sound fun at all!! I hopes it went away, and you can have that walk in the sun this time….
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  38. catfromhell says:

    Wes had thunder boomers at 4 am last week! The first crash was really loud and really scarey and everybody jumped on the bed with Mommy and Daddy. Wes had Boomers until 10 am and they was furry loud and the rain was furry heavy for the WHOLE morning!
    Me was not scared a bit!
    Kisses
    Nellie
    OK, me was scared a tiny little bit…

  39. speedyrabbit says:

    best to wait it out then its fun all the way!xx Speedy


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

