Too big to play:-(

I love to play. I don’t mind the age, size or breed of the other dog, I just ask for a willing partner. I can do zoomies, wrestle and play bitey face. I like to consider myself an all-rounder in the play deptartment:-)Β  But something happened in the park yesterday that upset me a little.

Mummy and I had just entered the park when another dog (he was off-lead) approached. His owner called him back but he, who’s name is apparently Rollo, ignored her and decided to sniff me anyway. It was clear we both wanted to play and we soon sprang into dance mode. But his owner told Rollo off, saying he couldn’t play with me as I was on-lead. Mummy then offered to let me off, there was no one else about and she knows how much I love to make new friends. But Rollo’s owner asked her not to because I was too big to play with him!

Mummy was speechless. Rollo was roughly border collie sized (though he was a terrier cross I think) so wasn’t THAT small and he certainly wasn’t intimidated by my size. But she didn’t want to argue to point. The only reason she’d asked first was because we were near the entrance and she’d assumed Rollo and his owner were on their way home and therefore may not have had time.

As mummy and I walked off she whispered to me that Rollo probably had fleas anyway. But we hadn’t got very far when Rollo came pelting behind us, leapfrogged over me and then turned to continue our game. Obviously HE didn’t think I was too big to play with him!

His owner furiously called him back and he reluctantly went. It made mummy laugh though as the reason I’m on-lead most of the time is because off-lead I do exactly what Rollo did and will relentlessly pursue another dog if I think we could be friends. But all too often they are nervous, anti-social or grumpy – and that’s just their owners! So it’s often easier to be on-lead unless we find a quiet spot or find a friend who isn’t size-ist.

2013-05-18 19.06.14

Misaki no-mates 😦

I do feel a bit sad now, but at least tomorrow I have doggy class where I’ll see some friends who can see beyond my size.

Have you ever been told you’re too big to play??

92 Comments on “Too big to play:-(”

  1. Poor Rollo had his fun ruined by the silly peeps. Nevermind you have class and that should be fun and the weather should be getting better. Have a terrific Tuesday.
    Best wishes Molly

  2. A great shame and Rollo’s loss 😦

  3. Oh that’s bad… I think the name of his owner was “TROLLO”, he must be a troll or something like this. I feel sorry for you and Rollo – but maybe your mom is right and he is really a Flea-Taxi and if, he has it from his owner. Have a nice tuesday Miskai – I would like to play with you !

  4. Clowie says:

    I feel your pain, Misaki. I’ve had this sort of thing happen to me as well. But, when allowed, I can play with even tiny dogs safely – I will settle down on the ground and play bitey face with them.
    Have fun at doggy class!

    • Misaki says:

      Thanks Clowie, I like to play with little doggies too. There’s a few puppies in class who like to climb on my head and bite my ears BOL

  5. Orl the time Misaki, orl the time! Partly coz of my size and partly coz of what breed I iz the hoomans belonging to alot of smorler dogs think I too dangerous to play. Dem will pick up dem smorl dogs and hold dem and scream if Iz running around at the beach!

    Iz neva hurt any ones, neva!

    Some of mine bestest play mates are smorl dogs

    I’d play wiff yooz Misaki x

    • Misaki says:

      I would love to play with you Cat! There’s a lurcher at class called Oz and when I play with him I crawl underneath him then stand up so he is off the ground hehehe. Its my signature wrestling move!

  6. Poor Misaki! “Too big to play”??? No way!!!! Maybe some other dogs are too little to play but you’re not too big PERIOD! Rollo missed out on some fun but you’ll have bunches of fun at class today anyway. Don’t be sad…..OK????

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  7. Well I’ll play with you, rough and tumble, zoombie’z and bitey face’z xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  8. Nikitaland says:

    I can’t believe that someone said that you were too BIG to play with them! You’re right, that other doggie must have had fleas or something that their Mommy did not want them to be around you. Nikita is 63 pounds and I don’t think she would be called too BIG! (Bella on the other hand is only 32 lbs.)

  9. stanze says:

    Poor Rollo and Misaki, stupid Rollo-human. Rudi plays with Bach all the time, Rudi is a terrier (13kg) and Bach a Bernese mountaindog (a bit over 40kg). They don’t care about the size. Usually Rudi wins. His typical wrestling move is climbing on Bachs back (and humping shamelessly).

  10. People never said I was too big, but when I am nervous I can bark and look scary and they won’t let me play because I look mean. Hailey (and Zaphod who never has had a problem)

  11. Aww. Poor sweetie. Rollo might have a fleas.. I agree with your mum. *kisses to your sad little face*

  12. Emmadog says:

    We never worry about size as us dogs generally are more careful with smaller dogs and rougher with the big ones! Don’t be sad…look forward to your class.

  13. Size-ist – The worst! Our dog Sally was a master player – a 60lb Lab – so not huge, but she’d play with the smallest to the largest – her boyfriend was a big 125lb Borzoi – now there was a match. Poor Misaki – you and Sally would have had a great time!

  14. p.m.terrell says:

    That happened many times with our Mummy’s Charmer, who was a British Mastiff. The dogs did not mind him at all because they knew he was good-natured and playful. It’s the HUMANS who are constantly the worry-warts stick-in-the-mud bozo-heads. We are so sorry that human ruined play time. And we’re especially sorry for Rollo! Lots of love from you-can-play-with-us-ANYTIME- Mattie, the foxhound, Simone the collie, and Eddie and Lucy the JRs. (Yes, we are JRs but we’d LOVE to play with you!)

    • Misaki says:

      I used to play with a JR-sized terrier all the time (think he was a border terrier though not 100%) and I’d chase him round the park, it was fab! So yes, I’d love to play with you guys πŸ™‚

  15. barkandchatter says:

    Sometimes my Ma tells me I’m too small to play (I’m only a foot tall) but I grew up with Great Pyrenees, so I FEEL like a BIG dog! Either way sizism is no fair! And your Mom was right – Rollo probably had fleas – and worms, too! πŸ™‚

  16. barkandchatter says:

    PS I would love to play Misaki – big dogs are still my favorite! πŸ™‚

  17. finnhoward says:

    Oh no! You can come play with us because we love it! I don’t like it when the peeps don’t have control over their dogs, especially at the park. We stopped going to our dog park because some of the dogs there were too unpredictable. Our park separates the dogs by size, so dogs under 50 pounds are on one side and over 50 on the other. Seems like a good idea, but what the heck? If you don’t want your dog to play, don’t take him to the park!

  18. finnhoward says:

    That last statement was about the other person, not you guys!

  19. Sage says:

    Well, dadgummit, Misaki. I’ll come play with you. Size is not what’s important anyway (one of my BFFs is a Saint Bernard). We’ve met some strange humans, though, that think their little baby is too good for anyone else.

  20. Kyla says:

    Dog class just isn’t the same as being off lead and free to play anything. If Rollo has terrier in him, you’re not too big-his peeps don’t understand him.

  21. Nachthawk says:

    don’t be sad… it is rollo’s loss…

  22. D: that’s so unfair! It doesn’t sound like the dog had fleas, more like the owner had brain fleas or something.

  23. Will and Eko says:

    Dogs are masters of play and generally have a much better sense than people of how to have fun, regardless of size!

  24. Sorry to hear that it didn’t work out for you and Rollo to play. Sounds like you both would have had a blast!

  25. That man sure sounded like he was king of the grumps!! No, I have never been told I am too big to play, I am just skittish and tend not to like smaller dogs very much. Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    • Misaki says:

      Dakota, I’d have you playing in no time πŸ™‚ There was a puppy in class who was nervous and I kept trying to entice him to play. I rolled on my back and tapped him with my paws until he couldn’t resist. After class it took 20 mins to walk to the car because he decided to crawl over my face and bite my ears BOL

  26. Stupid size-ist! That’s so not cool! I feel bad for Rollo that he didn’t get to play with you, I wonder if he ever gets to play????

  27. Oh no Misaki! Poor Rollo would have loved to have played with you I’m sure. Some humans really are stupid aren’t they! =^.^=

  28. Rolo probably feels even sadder that he was prevented from making the best playmate friend ever. Oh poop, why can’t the bipeds be on leash and leave us alone, Max & Bella

  29. rubytheairedale says:

    Terrier, too small?! Obviously Rollo’s chucklehead of a peep doesn’t know terriers AT ALL!
    If the doggie has terrier in it, it can play with any size doggie! Geesh.
    Yups, let’s just say that Rollo has cooties, and move on. I’ll play with you Misaki!
    Kisses,
    Ruby β™₯

  30. We think your Mom did all the right things. Because that lady was rude enough to let Rollo keep trying to play, we think your mom should have asked HER to put HIM on a lead too.

    Hope you can play with the next pup you meet who wants to play too.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  31. That is preposterous Misaki! Yes, plenty of puppy mamas and papas say me and Nalle are too big to play with or even say hello too. Sometimes they say their pup was once bit by a large dog. To me it is blunt size discrimination!!! So many uneducated pup parents think us bigger pups are all dangerous, especially us because we look like real wolfies. It does make us sad that we can’t even say hi. We only want to be nice and play. They don’t believe my Mama when she says we are a very mellow breed. Woo! Ku

  32. CATachresis says:

    It is Rollo’s loss as well!! Silly owner!! I am very small, but I would play with you Misaki ……. maybe!! πŸ˜‰ xx

  33. Rollo’s human is not too smart (probably didn’t get past 2nd grade). I would love to play with you. I am not sizest. I play with Big, Medium, and little dogs.. but only if Mom lets me. She has to scope them out first to make sure I’m safe. She fancies herself as my protector.
    Maybe tomorrow you’ll find a friendly doggie with a smarter human.
    Wags,
    Ranger

  34. If Rollo’s Mom didn’t want him to play why was he off leash? She sounds like a rude silly woman. Have fun in class!

  35. You are NOT too big to play, M. You are the perfect size! I’m not too big for ANYTHING. And my best friend is Lila, a black lab 3 times my size. I am also never off my leash. Apparently, I am not trustworthy….

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  36. Zena says:

    Rollo’s owner shouldn’t have had him off lead if he wasn’t going to let him play with you 😦
    I sometimes get put back on the lead at our off leash park because I play policeman too much and annoy The Help. I bark if a dog is on the ground and the other/s are on top of it. I get worried for it. The Help tells me they are wrestling and like it, but I think they should be up and running so I get in there and nag them until they get up! People look at Raffles and worry about his size, but I’m the one who actually makes more noise and can be a nuisance – okay, I admit it!
    There is a black poodle who has come to the park twice. He is only allowed to play for about five minutes and then he is put back on the lead by his owner in case he gets ‘overtired’!! We think it’s because she doesn’t want him to get dirty and those poodles at the park roll around and get in state πŸ˜€
    Have a great time with your pals and hope you find someone to run with the next time you’re out and about.

  37. Aw how sad Misaki 😦 Sounds like you’re doing the responsible thing. Maybe Rollo’s mum should put him on lead if she doesn’t want him playing with bigger dogs!

  38. We would love to play with you if we lived closer – there are lots of doggies and peeps who have not had the privilege of meeting you yet. Poor Rollo missed out. We think your mum was right about the fleas πŸ™‚ Nutty and Honey

  39. Nylabluesmum says:

    Purrleeze don’t bee sad Misaki…you have lots of poochie furnedz who lub to play wif ya!!!
    N dere are many of us here in Bloggie land who wuud LUB to play wif ya if we met up…try not to be sad…you iz da pawsumest poochie EVER!!!
    WE LUB ya, Nylablue n SherriEllen xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  40. spittythekitty says:

    Poor Rollo. I bet he hardly ever gets to have any fun at all. You on the other hand have fun every day as far as I can tell! (Well, except maybe today). XOXOXO You are the purrfect size.

  41. iambosco says:

    Aw Misaki! I would have played with you! As long as you chase me, that’s my favourite game. I have had owners pick up their little dogs so so they can’t play with me…I’m not even that big! Booooooooo to boring owners! xxx

    • Misaki says:

      I love to chase!! I used to play with a JR sized terrier (think he was a border terrier though not ure) and we’d zoom all over the place πŸ™‚ But he doesn’t come to my park anymore sadly

  42. urban hounds says:

    I feel for you and Im sorry this happened. As an owner of both big and small dogs Ive also gotten more nasty comments about my small dogs then my large ones. Unfortunately when all the dogs are together most of mine are a bit leash aggresive. Tubby will for example bark at all passing downs, I have been told several times that small dogs are always starting trouble. Once a horrible man threatened to kick Tubby because he barked at his dog, we were on leash and far from the other dog. I always walk my dogs on leash becuase of their tendency to be barky and also because Bob can be dog aggresive with dogs he does not now, he cant play off lead with strage dogs. Norbert in his advance age is also not always freindly towards dogs larger then him. I always walk them on leash and I have been upset in the past when an off leash dog runs up to them. I will alwyas tell the owner that my dogs are a bit leash aggresive and dont always play well with strangers, sometimes the owners get annoyed even though their dogs are the ones off leash. I truly wish my dogs could play with everyone but its not the case. Of course what happened with Misaki is totally different, you where on leash and the dog who wanted to play was not. I think the owner was pretty rude. Perhaps she had a bad experiene, but its no excuse.

    Anyway sorry for the long comment but if you check our blog today you will see we are firm beleivers in mixed size playing and we would love to play with you (or at least Weasley and Tubby and Ping would and Bob and Norbert if they got to know you first)
    urban hounds

  43. speedyrabbit says:

    Don’t worry Misaki I may only be a bunny but I would play with you too! poor Rollo and he so wanted to play too…silly owner!xx Speedy

  44. onebluedog says:

    Oh, I’m sorry, Misaki! It’s so disappointing when you think it’s going to be playtime and then someone ruins the fun 😦

  45. Hope you got deflead πŸ˜‰

  46. Granny says you’re never to old to play. Come on, don’t be sad anymore and let’s play together. Pawkisses πŸ™‚

  47. Dianda says:

    Too big to play? I’ve never heard that excuse before!


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

