Christmas traditions

A few people have been asking about my recovery. I am all better now thank you. The vet says my scar has healed nicely and my sneaky licks don’t seem to have harmed it at all. Best of all I escaped without having to wear a cone of shame:-) But as you can see I still have a bald belly. Hope it grows through quickly.

Hope you like my 'modesy' holly BOL

Hope you like my ‘modesty’ holly BOL

I had a lovely time at class last night, and had a good play with my friend Poppy. She is a mastiff/boxer cross and is just as bouncy as me. All of mummy’s photos are blurry so I can’t introduce her to you yet.

I’m starting to really like the build up to Christmas. The other night I was invaluable in helping mummy wrap presents. I sniffed each one thoroughly and inspected her wrapping skills to make sure they were up to scratch.

serious face - mummy I am watching you. Don't mess up the wrapping or no licks for you!

serious face – mummy I am watching you. Don’t mess up the wrapping or no licks for you!

I’m just starting to learn about the traditions our family have at this time of year. One of these is to read A Christmas Carol by Charles Chickens Dickens. The idea is to start it on the 1st of December, reading one chapter a week and then finishing the last chapter on Christmas morning. Mummy has been slack this year but plans to start reading it to me this weekend.

From what I can gather this is a book about a man who is badly behaved but is visited by ghosts from his past who help him to realise he needs to be good, otherwise no one will play with him or give him treats. And in the end he becomes nice. Kinda like going to training class I guess! I hope there are puppies in the story.

Do you have any special family traditions? I’d love to heard them!

PS – you can see my letter to Santa over at Rumpy’s today:-)

65 Comments on “Christmas traditions”

  1. Now you made me realize that I have no traditions for Christmas, just eat and drink eggnog, we are all about NYE tho.
    Good to know you are healing perfectly and that you have decided to cover your business.

  2. Hey Misaki you are all furs and no knickers! BOL. Glad you are A OK. Thank you so much for the book and the goodies. We will do a post next week for you and Mollie & Alfie who sent us some stuffs too. We have a package heading your way to The Kingdom Of Roundabouts. We just started our tradition of my mini-me ornament on yesterdays post. It will go up every year. Lynne is so clever. My assistant can’t crochet if her life depended on it. Have a terrific Thursday.
    Best wishes Molly

  3. Tummy looking good – wish we could reach out and stroke it! On Christmas day (if it’s not too cold) we go to the beach and eat oysters and drink champagne šŸ˜‰

  4. rumpydog says:

    Glad to hear you’re doing well Misaki! Stop on by and check out your letter to Santa on the blog today. woo woo!!!!

  5. Misaki it’s good that you’re all healed and just waiting for your furs to come back to keep your tummy warm this winter……I love that photo of you snoopervising your Mum as she wraps presents – we DO need to keep an eye on our humans so they do stuff right! Glad you’ve getting lots of prezzies from your friends too – keeps the holidays exciting. As for traditions – the only one that comes to mind is the tradition of making sure Sammy’s Christmas stocking is overflowing with fun stuff on Christmas morning….yep – that’s a VERY impawtant tradition!!!!

    Holiday Hugs, Sammy

  6. That’s a nice christmas decoration ;o) I like your idea to read this wonderful book by Charles Chickens ;o)

  7. Your recovering well xxx

  8. catchatcaren says:

    One of Mommy’s favorite books is “A Christmas Carol” and she thinks that that tradition is just fabulous! It is such a feel good story with such a good moral. Your belly fur will grow back just be patient! At least you didn’t have to wear the “Cone of Shame” barks and licks and love, Dakota and “Mom”

  9. We don’t have any traditions for christmas, mom is a bit of a “bah-humbug”. It’s even my birthday on christmas day too. We usually get some special treat though.

  10. Bloody compawter, I’ve already left me comment but it didn’t come out. Gonna follow AC tradition šŸ™‚ At the moment we do it Doggy Style ( excuse the pun ) šŸ™‚ xx0xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  11. Kyla says:

    The only tradition I care about is opening the packages, seeing what’s edible and chowing down.

  12. catfromhell says:

    Oh wow! Your tummy looks great! Just perfect for belly rubs! And yous better keeps a eye on your peoples. They does some wacky things at Christmas!
    Kisses
    Nellie

  13. Clowie says:

    I saw you letter to Santa and I’m hoping he brings you some snow!

  14. Madi and Mom says:

    Misaki you have so much to look forward to on this your first Christmas.
    Hugs Madi

  15. That’s a great tradition and we are glad you are better. This will be Cocco’s first holiday!

    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  16. speedyrabbit says:

    Mummy always makes a christmas cake and always uses the decorations from when she was very little,xx Speedy

  17. Sassy the cat here; hmm Christmas traditions. Oh yeah! my people worship a dead tree in their living room and won’t let me play with the ornaments or even climb in it.

  18. stanzebla says:

    Your bald belly looks so cold. *shivers* I hope the fur grows back fast. My family had only very stupid Christmas traditions, like listening to the same old fluttering audio tape. Probably the reason why I hate every Christmas song that was on that tape. I like the Polish tradition that involves dried grass on the table and I like Croatian Christmas candles that are wrapped in fresh wheat-grass. I guess I’m in solidarity with my sheep.

  19. So good to hear you are doing so well, Misaki. That’s what happens when you are young and healthy. Now about that bare belly – we would be happy to send you some of our furs – Mom says there are lots of them scattered everywhere here:)

    One of Mom’s favorite traditions is to do a big Christmas puzzle. But she hasn’t cracked one open yet because SomePup likes to steal and eat the pieces.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  20. So glad you’re feeling better Misaki! Love the holly too it made me giggle! Bisous Bailey

  21. Will and Eko says:

    Luckily I don’t have you watching me wrap presents – I’m the worst!

  22. Dianda says:

    Good to know you have healed perfectly, Misaki!

  23. Oh, your bare belly looks a little chilly Misaki! Makes me wanna send you a warm furry sweater to wear, then I remember your a furry gal, and that would just be silly. So, I’ll just wish you fast walks and warm floors!

    Kisses,
    Ruby

  24. Emmadog says:

    Get that belly fur growing – it will probably take a while though. Glad you are enjoying Christmas so far!

  25. Our tradition is to dress us up stupidly. Lee and Phod

  26. Hey Misaki, Jet here.

    We loved your letter to Santa Paws… we’re so with you, obviously Santa uses a K9 sled… not sure how the story got so confused?

    Thanks for letting us know you are healing so well, that takes an item off our “concern” list. šŸ™‚ We think you need a nice soft “scarf” of sorts to protect your adorable belly until your beautiful fur returns. šŸ™‚

  27. Sydney Fong says:

    I look at the way you sleep, I know you are fine now! Great to hear that, I wish you stay well and be happy!

  28. spittythekitty says:

    Your pink belly looks all sweet and tasty! And your scar is all healed up. You was a really good girl not to need a cone, Misaki!

  29. Bassetmomma says:

    I’m so glad to hear you are all healed up in time for Christmas. What a lovely tradition your family has. We love “A Christmas Carol”!

  30. Apparently, the tradition around here is to get my nails cut, have a bath, and get some new dresses for my Christmas pictures. The tree is up and I have been good about not messing with it. Ditto the gifts, even though I know some of them are mine. I heard one squeak when Mom was wrapping it. Your tummy looks beautiful, and thank you for covering the naughty part with holly!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  31. A Husky Life says:

    You are such a beautiful girl, Misaki! And the modesty patch is hilarious šŸ™‚

  32. Ann Paws says:

    Haha Misaki, I love how your mommy censored your photo! Your belly looks really great! I’m sure your fur will grow back before you know it.

  33. I love all the little traditions each family observes throughout the christmas season, that’s really what makes it all so special right! Today I started Christmas baking… the flavors of home really make it feel like Christmas no matter how far away we are this time of year. I really like the idea about reading a chapter of a Christmas Carol each week leading up to the big day. I think I may give it a try too! xoxox


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

