Duck pond

Now we’re approaching winter, when we go to the park in the morning the sky looks like this:

red sky in the morning, Shepherd’s warning … hmm does that mean no treats today??

I have a light on my collar to help guide the way, but I don’t really like it. Mummy has failed to get a decent photo of it so I can’t show you what it looks like. Luckily it doesn’t take too long for the sky to brighten up at the moment so I only have to have it on for a short time. When the clocks change it might be a different matter though.

Anyway, we decided to vary our route this morning and we walked down to the duck pond. Stupidly mummy hadn’t considered there would be any ducks about! The ducks sound just like my duck toy, so of course I wanted to play with them.

hey ducks, let’s play chase!

Mummy wouldn’t let me play though – partly she was worried about me jumping straight into the pond (she can’t swim very well and was worried she’d have to rescue me), and secondly she had visions of Doggy photoshopping pictures of me eating them! Thanks for spoiling my fun Doggy><

So instead I played in a muddy puddle.

err mummy, are you sure this is a duck pond??

Hope you had fun on your walkies today. Did you see any ducks?

55 Comments on “Duck pond”

  1. You seem to have the same problem Me and Nellie have: mummys are not very good at taking photos of Us. Some of the photos she takes are of Me and Nellie being bad, totally show her inability to take “good” photos. Where We live there are no ponds, but mummy says if it continues to rain like it has been the whole front lawn will become a lake. Imagine the fun We could have playing in the water. Lover Nellie and Jasper.

  2. I think a shepherds warning means: NO lamb today….very good I don’t like lamb ;o)

  3. We see lots of ducks but we are not allowed to chase them. However squiggles that is another story. You may have guessed I have a thing for squirrels. Have a terrific Thursday Misaki.

  4. Mollie says:

    We have Ducks in our park..Not allowed to play wiff the either 😦 Bet your gonna need a baff after that muddy puddle 🙂 I’m still in bed when you go for your walk..bol xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  5. Dalton says:

    At least you got to play in a mudddy puddle I am normally not allowed!!

  6. Muddy puddles must make up for missing out on ducks, no?

  7. Why, Misaki, please do show us pics of you eating duck.
    The first time Doggy jumped in the river was because of the ducks, he was 5 months old, I panicked, he’s a really good swimmer, he could even rescue me, but I didn’t know.

  8. Hey Misaki, Jet here.

    Our morning constitutional looks more like midnight these days. We think it will change soon along with the clocks! Mom wears a lightstick, because after trying a few lights on my harness, I preferred her to carry the light!

    What a beautiful sky! Hope you enjoyed your mud puddle. We have tons of ducks and other avians; JJ, being the bird dog variety that she is has the instinct to chase more than I do. Perhaps that’s because I’m focusing more on the squirrels!

    • Hey Jet, Daddy wants to get mummy a light to wear on her head, like miners do, but mummy’s not impressed. I hope she does though as I don’t like my collar light at all!
      I like chasing squirrels to, but unlike what Doggy says, I’ve never caught one and certainly never eaten one!!

  9. Mom takes a flashlight out in the dark. Mostly to make sure I’m not eating poison from the ground. Your ducks are so cute. I think you should taste them – just a lick or two – don’t get crazy. Around here there are geese. They scare me a little, but the poop is delicious. (One more reason for the flashlight.)

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  10. Clowie says:

    There aren’t any ducks near here, but sometimes I see wild boar – I’m not allowed to chase them though!

  11. Emma says:

    I had a duck phase when I was younger but I no longer am interested in them, I just like the furry critters. I never actually got a duck even though I have been in the pond with them, somehow I am just not a fan.

  12. No ducks around here either BUT I do like to watch the geese flying in formation over our yard headed for the pond down the street. They’re two or three times my size though so even if I saw one “up close and personal” I’d be scared of them! I would think the mud puddle would be a lot more fun than chasing a duck Misaki!

    Kitty hugs, Sam

  13. Kyla says:

    No ducks-just frogs in the swimming pool.

  14. Suka says:

    hey Misaki,

    What a pretty place for a walk! I see lots of ducks and geese fly overhead but I don’t go near any lakes where they land. I have a wild turkey family that lives in my yard but when they see me they run. Too bad your mom didn’t let you jump in and play with the ducks. She could buy you a dog life jacket then you could always be ready to play in the pond! :->

    Enjoy your morning walkies! They look like a lovely way to start the day!

    Suka

  15. Dianda says:

    My parents dog once jumped in the water because of the ducks! We can laugh about it now, but when it happened, my mother was freaking out, because it took a while for the dog to come back above water. 😦

  16. catchatcaren says:

    ohhhh Misaki! The duck pond is the reason I HATE taking walks! I used to take walks ALL of the time. Daddy used to bring me by the duck pond at our condo complex (maybe I will be brave and go back to take photos to show you) and one day a Mother Goose came out of NOWHERE and wanted to ATTACK ME! The nerve of her! I wasn’t even LOOKING at her babies! I was just busy sniffing goose poop!!! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  17. Muddy puddles are the best!!!

  18. rubytheairedale says:

    Poor Misaki, no duck chasin’??? Oh, that sucks. We have Geese here at our park. There are like 87 thousand of em’! I’m not allowed to get too near em’, because they’re in the middle of the park, and well, doggies really aren’t ALLOWED in the park, buts Ma is a wild woman, and just ignores the signs. I keep tryin’ to get Ma to get close enough so I could at least get a good sniff, buts no luck so far! They do leave LOTS of poop (Ma won’t let me taste that EITHER!! puppy abuse, I tell ya!!)

    Kisses,

    Ruby

  19. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning says:

    No ducks on our walkie this morning, Misaki, just lots and lots of dancing leaves. It is super duper windy here. Mom didn’t like it at all because Lightning and Ciara kept trying to catch the leaves and almost yanked her arm off:(

    Hope you got some treats.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  20. you Mals and Sibes are all alike, muddy footsies are the best footsies…lucky for you your furrs are so oily that once that mud dries it just brushes right off and there you are with nice tidy white toesies again…play bows Misaki

  21. Zena says:

    Ducks – that reminds me of better times when Zac was still with me. We lived in a house with a swimming pool and every now and again ducks would come and try and set up home in our pool – cheek.
    We were allowed to chase them! It kept us occupied for ages because the stupid ducks would swim into the middle of the pool and flap around and we wouldn’t go in the water after them. They got the message though and eventually flew off.
    Just before he left us Zac heard ‘duck’ on the television and rushed outside barking 🙂

  22. Katie says:

    Aww too bad you couldn’t play with the ducks. Pigs are much more fun anyway so you aren’t missing out 🙂
    Oink oink,
    Katie and Coccolino the mini pig

  23. Rebecca says:

    Tasha here! We don’t get no fun walks like you. We live in the big city and the only dirt path I enjoyed is now a sidewalk. Way too much cement around here. All I get to see on my walk is nasty possums, rats, squirrels and cats. Such is the life of a city girl.

  24. Roo says:

    Hi ya Misaki!
    No ducks on my walkies of late. Lots of SQs though 🙂
    Maybe your could entice your Mom to get you a long leash so she can wait on the shore while you ‘play’ with the duckies 😉

    Waggin at ya,
    Roo

  25. Kristen says:

    We didn’t see a duck, but we did get to chase some wild turkeys on Thursday. we didn’t catch them:(
    Lee and Phod

  26. tylersat99 says:

    We usually walk in the evening when it’s getting dark so we don’t see a lot of things. But in our subdivision there are two lakes w/ducks and Geese. We would love to go see them but subdiv. Rules no dogs near lake 😦


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

