What makes a good bed?

Last night as I was drifting off to sleep I started to think about where and why I sleep where I do.


I’m not one for comfy cushions or soft beds, I have enough fur to compensate for those. And although I’m allowed on the sofa, I prefer to snooze on the carpet. At night, I always head upstairs with mummy and daddy and often make myself comfortable on the bed with them so they can cuddle me before I’m pushed off I get too hot and head to the floor. I have a cushion in their room but I don’t like it much so tend to stay on the floor at the foot of the bed until my daddy’s snoring becomes unbearable and I head downstairs.

I have an actual bed down there which doubles as a travel cage/crate, but its filled with my toys and I only go in there when the garden water snake comes out and I need a safe place to hide. Instead I prefer sleep on an old leather armchair in the conservatory. It’s Misaki-sized so I can curl up comfortably, plus it’s cool and far enough away from mummy and daddy’s room so I’m not disturbed by the snoring – seriously it’s like a chainsaw hitting a pipe!

I love sleeping in my armchair:-)

How about you? Why do you sleep where you do?

44 Comments on “What makes a good bed?”

  1. Good question Misaki……I think I like “cozy” spots for napping. My Mom’s legs, my tent – warmish spots. I can fall asleep in a sun puddle on a bed or chair too…..so obviously it’s all about WARM/COZY. Don’t tell my parents I said this but the main reason I don’t sleep with them is that they BOTH snore…..Dad could bring the roof down I think with his, and my Mom’s is more like a purrrrrr BUT they keep me awake!

    Kitty Hugs and Happy Friday!
    Sammy

  2. tylersat99 says:

    Lets see, during the day, Lexie sleeps on the cool Leather couch when I am on my computer in family room. At night she starts in her bed (crate) and winds up on hall wood floor. Mica sleeps on a cushion by my couch while I’m on computer, then when hot moves to the vent by the laundry room. She sleeps in the garage because its cool (cold) and comes inside in morning or if Garage gets down to freezing. Then she sleeps with Lexie in hall. Neither come upstairs to bedroom, it’s just too hot upstairs on carpet:)

  3. I think it’s not easy for an arctic dog to find the right place, my staff bought an igloo-tent for the two Huskies and they liked it (IKEA). I’m the “cavedog” – always sleeping under the bedcover, only my nose is out :o)

  4. Mollie says:

    I sleepz upstairs in my bed, then I come down stairs and go under the table, then I go back upstairs and lie on the landing, then I go downstairs again, and sleep under the coffee table, then I go back up in my bed, then I go back downstairs and lie on my rug…Then I go back up again, jump in next to Mommy as it’s almost morning, then I go to sleep. I fink I’m quite restless…do you ? πŸ™‚ xxx

  5. Dottie has not one but three beds through out the house that she naps on during the day. But at night she sleeps under our bed and snores. Boomer on the other hand naps during the day on the couches and at night sleeps in a chair curled up in a ball. Strange thing though, he refuses to sleep on a dog bed!

  6. During the day, when Mom is busy I sleep on the couch or the leather chair or on my sheepskin mat. Unlike you, I am not fluffy. I’m hard and boney, so I need cushioning! At night I cuddle with Mom till she can barely breathe. If she moves an inch away, then I move an inch closer. I love snuggling!!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  7. Oh Misaki I sleep on the bed but I have space managment issues as it is MINE but the peeps don’t get it. Have a fabulous Friday.
    Best wishes Molly

  8. Kyla says:

    In the winter, I sleep next to Him for warmth. In the summer I sleep in two rooms at once in the doorway. The head is on soft carpet and the body on cool stone.

  9. Hi Misaki,

    You get a chair, the sofa AND the bed!! You’re living the dream buddy!!

    I like to sleep on the carpet and the tiles when I’m too hot!! Oh and the sofa when I want to wind Mum up – that’s fun!! πŸ™‚

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  10. Aw, I’m sure it is such a comfy spot for you! Luna is like my little shadow, she like the coolness of the hardwood floor and will lay right on the air vent next to my bed. (When I get up during the night to use the restroom I have to make sure not to plop my feet down right away or i’ll step right on her!) Being in the south, to her right now while it is slowly becoming fall, she is alllll about sleeping wherever the air conditioning while still being close to me.

  11. My favorite bed that I make is a nice comfy hole I dug in the sand box. It’s my favorite place. Its warm in the winter and cool in the summer. Perfect.

  12. catchatcaren says:

    I sleep on the floor. On the HARD FLOOR! Mom has bought me so many beds that I refuse to use. No one can figure out why I prefer the floor. Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  13. stanzebla says:

    SchlafmΓΌtz sleeps on the dog bed next to my bed, Farbexplosion changes her favourite place, atm she sleeps on a cushion of a sofa chair, Miniputz changes her place too, I think she sleeps on a sofa atm, but some weeks before she was sleeping on my clothes, Rudi sleeps in my bed, with his head under the blanket. I sometimes fear he’ll die of asphyxiation. Phex sleeps on my bed or in front of the bathroom door. Bach sleeps with the cat on the dog bed. The dogs move sometimes during the night. The cats seem to move after some weeks to a new spot, but they don’t move during the night, except to ask me for something. “Human, I want to go in/out now.” “Human, I want food.” I don’t know if I snore, they won’t tell me. But SchlafmΓΌtz snores and makes other weird sounds.

  14. Katie says:

    Misaki, Coccolino wishes he could sleep in bed but he’s too young and his very inconsiderate parents don’t want him to a) fall out of bed, b) squeal us awake, or c) wet the bed! At least you get to sleep in their vicinity… πŸ™‚

  15. Emmadog says:

    I like nice soft cuddly beds but my big sis is more for the floor but now that she is older and mom got a fancy pad for her one bed she lays there a bit more. I think we are all different – our own “sleep number” πŸ˜‰

  16. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning says:

    Isn’t it funny how we all have such different tastes in sleeping locations?

    Phantom loves his crate or the hardwood floors. We don’t understand why he likes the floors because he has no fat anywhere to cushion his old bones.

    Thunder likes to sleep on a sofa, the carpet, in a crate, or in his little hidey hole under the desk.

    Princess Ciara definitely is the sofa gal here.

    And Lightning doesn’t seem to care where he sleeps as long as he is near one of us. The only place he doesn’t sleep is on the sofa, can’t figure that out either.

    And of yes, we forgot to say we NEVER get to sleep on the beds:(

    Happy weekend.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  17. rubytheairedale says:

    Oh, I have sooo many places to sleep…I have 3 dog beds, but I usually end up in Ma’s chair or the loveseat. I move around alot, because I put out a lot of heat (HOT DOG!) and have to always find a new cooler place to sleep!

    Kisses,

    Ruby

  18. Ours have far too many to mention!

  19. Chancy and Mumsy says:

    You’ve got lots of nice warm furs sweet Misaki so we can tell you seek out those nice cool places to sleep. I like lots of covers, even over my head but Mumsy is like you she likes those cools spots. Hugs and nose kisses

  20. Bosun Dawg says:

    I do prefer an old leather armchair as well Misaki.

  21. I get to sleep on the sofa, but only if no one messes with me. then it’s on the floor under the desk with my head on the rung of the chair. Sounds uncomfortable, but actually it isn’t.


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

