Hurdles

I’m now (hopefully) halfway through my confinement, so this is the home stretch 🙂 Am counting down the days!

To keep me busy until I’m free again, daddy has bought me a hurdle jump for the garden. It is basically an adjustable bar which he seems to think I should jump over. I am not so sure about that.

Mummy and daddy are talking about me taking agility classes when I turn 1 (apparently I’m not allowed before then). So this is just a taster. The bar is set quite low so I could step over it easily if I wanted to. I say ‘if’ because, to be honest, I don’t want to. I’d rather watch him step over it while I walk round it.

Thing is, mummy and daddy are always saying that they need to loose weight and do more exercise, so I figure if I pretend to be stupid and not get the concept of the hurdle, they’ll spend lots of time stepping over it and therefore will get bags of exercise. Great plan, eh?

In the meantime, they are getting desperate and have started waving treats around to encourage me. Its a win-win situation 🙂

32 Comments on “Hurdles”

  1. Ha ha ha, Misaki – you are a sly thing 😉 Fit humans but a slightly rounder, very happy hound!

  2. Clowie says:

    It sounds like you have a really good plan there! You can always try going over the bar, when you’re bored with their efforts, woof!

  3. Smart doggy!! Seems to me this agility training thing can work BOTH ways….the more stubborn you PRETEND to be, the more exercise THEY get trying to get you to cooperate. Atta girl…!

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  4. Oh Misaki – you are just so funny 🙂 I see you understand (being the brilliant dog you are) exactly what they want. Good plan, playing dumb until they start giving you treats!

  5. Misaki, I think you have a Bad Idea Catalog too…smart girl!!!

  6. Kyla says:

    It sounds like They are the ones who need an agility course. Keep playing dumb and watch Them do it. When the time is ready, break out the stopwatch. Good plan. Where’s the next meet for Them? I understand they just held one in London.

  7. Very smart. ALWAYS hold out for the treats! That’s what I do when Mom wants me to jump through the hula hoop.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  8. Misaki we have joined your blog after seeing your hilarious comments on Mollies blog. Looking forward to following your antics. Have a great day.
    Best wishes Molly

  9. Oskar says:

    You should give them as much exercise as you possibly can!

    Nubbin wiggles,
    Oskar

  10. Emmadog says:

    Yep, hold back on the jumping til you are 1 so your joints don’t get injured! They may regret teaching you to jump, mom taught my sister how to jump over gates and guess who jumped over the gate out of our yard??? Have a fun day!

  11. Zena says:

    I didn’t realise you were so young Misaki. I think I would like agility. I think I would be great at agility. I don’t think I’ll ever find out but I can jump on and off the chairs and bed easily!

  12. rubytheairedale says:

    You are brilliant Misaki! Act dumb and the treaties keep flowin’! Although, that jump sounds like fun….how long can you really resist?

    Kisses,

    Ruby

  13. oh yeah! Mom knows the ‘hurdle’ jump from training her Sibe in obedience…we suggest you get the peeps to jump first before you to prove it can be done…bet they don’t ask ya to do it again!! MOL Savannah

  14. tylersat99 says:

    When a dog I use to have was learning agility, he would go around also. Nothing worked until I took his short leash and we jumped over it together. I didn’t think maybe he was trying to give me exercise:/


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

