What’s in a name?

As I took mummy for her morning stroll I realised that she rarely calls me by my full name. Instead she uses endearments like ‘baby’, ‘darling’, ‘Zaki-baby’ and ‘my beautiful girl’.

I’m also affectionately known as Little Miss Muddy Paws, Madam M, the Fluff Monster and the Beast of Essex – that’s humans for you! When I hear MISAKI its usually because I’ve been naughty. which of course rarely happens BOL 😉

Other humans often struggle with my name and I get called anything from Malachi, Masala(!), Mishka and even Izzie. But I don’t mind, I’d probably answer to Bob if I’d get a treat out of it BOL.

I think I’ve said before that Misaki means beautiful blossom in japanese and this is why mummy and daddy chose it. Originally they had a boy’s name picked out but when they visited my birth mother’s house they chose me – or rather, I chose them! – and so they quickly had to think of a girl’s name instead.

So this got me thinking, why were you given your name? And is your real name what you are usually called?

 

 

 

55 Comments on “What’s in a name?”

  1. Greetings. Me and Nellie can understand how you can have many names. It was not until I was nearly two years old that it learnt that my name was not “Jasper you little S*&t” because for some reason that is what my family called Me. I do not understand why.
    http://jaspersdoggyworld.wordpress.com/2012/06/17/the-many-names-of-a-maremma/

  2. Mummeh had already decided that she wanted a piggeh called Clover when she went to the pet shop to pick me out. When she saw me she thought I was perfect for a name like Clover so that’s why she chose me!
    She often says now that she could have called me Oreo, Velvet, Scarlett or Ruby, but I like Clover the best!!!
    Mummeh often likes to call me Clovey-Wovey, Big fat chubba wubba or guinea-big. Hehehe! xD

    Piggeh kisses,
    Clover
    xxxxx

  3. We have Apie Scrape, and Rupie Scupe and we’ve just started fostering Billie who has now started to be called Billie Billie – who knows why? Rupie’s brother was Ralphie Scalf. It’s a bit of an Aussie tradition to lengthen short names and shorten long names!!

  4. Clowie says:

    I have many names! Some of them are seasonal – for example “The Hair Factory” is a Spring favourite.

  5. We always consider names very carefully. Quite apart from waiting to find out what each pet should be called, we have to think about how well the hundreds of other names will flow from the given one. The more names a pet has, the more loved it is 😀

  6. dogdaz says:

    When Mom rescued me my name was Louise, Because the rescuers had to free my sister and me from the trunk of a car and they named us ‘Thelma and Louise,” like the movie. The family wanted to rename me Harlo, but Mom thought Louise fit me better. Mom calls me Lulu Belle, Luni, Lu, Big Girl, and Hey You. Sofie was a puppy when we rescued her and the foster called her ‘Penny.’ We named her Sofie, the ‘S’ is in memory of Squash E Bear and the FIE was in memory of Grandad, it was his initials. Mom calls her Sofie Bear, SoSo, and a few things that I am not allowed to say out loud. 🙂

  7. Mollie says:

    Mine is an Irish name and means bitter…as in the Irish bitter..Humom just looked it up 🙂 I’m called Princess..Mollop..Dumb Blonde ( cos that’s my breeding 🙂 )Wally.Lolly the list is endless….Oh and Baby Girl 🙂
    Have a great day Izzie..I mean Misaki xx00x

  8. Your name is PERFECT for you, Misaki. Mom named me Cupcake because I’m so sweet. Sometimes she accidentally calls me Peanut and Tiny and Button and Monkey… So does that mean I’m not as sweet as she thought!?? IMPOSSIBLE!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  9. Dalton says:

    I get full named when i’m in trouble -BOL!! I also get oy you, when my head is somewhere it shouldn’t be!!

  10. I have a lot of names, Easy Rider, given by Breeder, NO (with 7 exclamation marks), Mole, Don’t, Hellboy, Stop, Botty… but mostly I listen to nothing… :o) The formula of name is: caused harm x replacement value + cleaning expenses : time of day – date = currently name …or something like that :o)))

  11. I think Misaki is a beautiful name….! My Dad named me – and had a name picked out before my parents went to the shelter to find a cat in fact…he just wanted a cat named Sammy and when they saw me Dad said “there’s Sammy!”…..and here I have been for twelve years :D! The only nicknames I have are Samster, Sam the Slam, and if I’ve been bad Mom calls me Beastie Boy. I try not to hear THAT too often! 😀 😀

    Kitty Hugs, Sammy

  12. I really like Misaki, and Masala too, but I rather eat Masala lol
    I didn’t know what you name meant, now I’ll play smart and whenever I see a plant blooming I’ll say “look this Misaki”.
    I wanted to call Doggy Dog, or Who, but the world was against it, they said I should call him something ended on Y, so I picked Doggy and he does look like a Doggy.

  13. Emmadog says:

    Mom named us people names that she liked and matched us she thought but she usually calls us by our nicknames, which are all cozy names and we don’t mind that at all 🙂

  14. Chancy and Mumsy says:

    We love the meaning of your name sweet Misaki and it fits you well. I was named Chancy because I was given a second chance at life. Mumsy calls me Chancy Man or Sweet Little Man most of the time though. Hugs and nose kisses

  15. Amy and Toby says:

    Toby was named by the rescue group. When we got him home we tried to think of something else but Toby just seemed to fit so it stuck!

  16. Kyla says:

    This is easy. Since both Kenzie and I are breeds of Scotland, They looked up Scottish names. Kenzie is an auld (sic) male name that means fair complexioned-appropriate for a West Highland WHITE Terrier. Mine is a female name that means hot like a supermodel. They did a good job. When I was rescued, I was called Mullen and They hated it.

  17. Oh, I love your name! I think it fits you very well! Ma named me ‘Ruby’ after a character on the TV series “Supernatural” a couple of season’s ago. Apparently, ‘Ruby’ was a demon! Yup. Ma named me after a DEMON! Okay, okay, she happened to be right on the money, but STILL! I hardly get called by my name thou, it’s usally ‘baby girl’ ‘rubes’, or just ‘come’!

    Kisses,

    Ruby

  18. Well…my name was given to me at the kill shelter ‘cuz they needed an “S” name…then it stuck with me at the no kill shelter…then Mom and Dad GOT ME…Dad wanted to change my name…but Mom said something like “not only NO, but schmell NO” (snickers behind paws)…and then Mom enticed me to let her pet me by singing the Name Rhyming Song…Savannah, nana, bomana, fee, fi momana..Savannah…so now my REAL FULL NAME is Savannah NanaMo…and a bunch of other stuff like “banana cakes; princess; banana butt, nana, savvy, etc.” And your name suits you Miss Misaki! paw pats, Savvy

  19. So very true!! I think Luna responds to anything that rhymes with her name, as well as Stinky Butt as my boyfriend calls her that frequently! I call her Loon Loon and Roona all the time also. It’s funny how even to our own pet we still give “pet names.”

  20. Interesting how you all got your names. I was going to be Kai for a while. Beloved was trying to find a Tibetan name for me which she could pronounce and wouldn’t feel stupid calling in the dog park!
    In the end though she let her beloved choose my name because apparently (gasp of horror), he hadn’t wanted another dog!! Can you believe it?
    He wanted a no nonsense, easy to call guy’s name so I became Zac and because of the New Zealand connection and the fact that I was black he wanted to have All Black in my name.
    Anyway, I soon put him straight and reminded him how great it was to have me because he agreed to have a second Tibetan- and her name was chosen because it went well with Zac and because she was a bit precious and princessy!
    I get called Zaccy, Zac du lac, Zacalicious, Sweetiepie and….. you get the picture?
    Beloved has many names for me but tends to only call Zena by her full name or Zeen.
    I think that makes me her favourite 🙂
    I love the name Misaki, it suits you too and I love the name Savannah.
    Oh and I am definitely with Easy, it doesn’t matter what they call me, if I’m busy, I’m busy and that’s that!!
    Oh and I just remembered, Stubborn, that’s another name they call me – can’t think why BOL

  21. Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning says:

    We LOVE your name, Misaki, and Mom says she would want to use it all the time. Phantom’s name comes from the mask he once had – you can see it in the baby pic of him in today’s post. Thunder is like a storm, gray and white. Mom just liked the name Ciara. And Dad chose Lightning’s name because it was what he liked even though Mom had a ton of others in mind. Not too much originality in our names:)

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

  22. bonesdiary says:

    I was called Bones because when I was really small I had a wrinkly brow and when my dad first came to see me he said I reminded him of Dr McCoy, from the original Star Trek, whose nickname was Bones.

  23. So interesting, finding out where your name originated. I’m like you, as long as I’m getting attention, I don’t really mind what people call me 🙂

  24. Bassas Blog says:

    Beautiful blossom is very appropriate! I was given my name by the priests in the Tabakini monastery where I was born. Tall person calls me Bassa most of the time but also Bishy and Bashy 🙂

  25. Jessica says:

    Great topic! We chose the name “Taylor” because on the day we adopted her, we noticed that her tail has a life of its own!! “Tail” lead to “Taylor”! However, she also has two nicknames: “Puppers” and “Bubba”! Random, I know! 🙂


Please leave a reply I'd love to hear from you!!

